Carter County Tennessee Sales Tax Rate 2021 Tennessee Sales Tax Rates: Carter County


Carter County, Tennessee Sales Tax Rate 2021 Up to 9.75%

The Carter County Sales Tax is 2.75%

A county-wide sales tax rate of 2.75% is applicable to localities in Carter County, in addition to the 7% Tennessee sales tax.

None of the cities or local governments within Carter County collect additional local sales taxes.

Here's how Carter County's maximum sales tax rate of 9.75% compares to other counties around the United States:

  •   Higher maximum sales tax than any other Tennessee counties
  •   Higher maximum sales tax than 94% of counties nationwide
Last updated October 2021

Tax Rates By City in Carter County, Tennessee

The total sales tax rate in any given location can be broken down into state, county, city, and special district rates. Tennessee has a 7% sales tax and Carter County collects an additional 2.75%, so the minimum sales tax rate in Carter County is 9.75% (not including any city or special district taxes). This table shows the total sales tax rates for all cities and towns in Carter County, including all local taxes.

City Sales Tax Rate Tax Jurisdiction
Elizabethton 9.75% Carter County
Roan Mountain 9.75% Carter County
Hampton 9.75% Carter County
Watauga 9.75% Carter County
Elizabethton 9.75% Elizabethton
Milligan College 9.75% Elizabethton

Tennessee Sales Tax Rates by Zip Code:

Need an updated list of Tennessee sales tax rates for your business? Download our Tennessee sales tax database!

Carter County, Tennessee has a maximum sales tax rate of 9.75% and an approximate population of 33,401.

Sales tax rates in Carter County are determined by two different tax jurisdictions, Carter County and Elizabethton.

  Back to Tennessee Sales Tax Handbook Sales tax rates for Carter County are current as of October 2021
** This Document Provided By SalesTaxHandbook **