Monroe County Tennessee Sales Tax Rate 2017 Tennessee Sales Tax Rates: Monroe County


Monroe County, Tennessee Sales Tax Rate 2017 Up to 9.25%

The Monroe County Sales Tax is 2.25%

A county-wide sales tax rate of 2.25% is applicable to localities in Monroe County, in addition to the 7.00% Tennessee sales tax.

None of the cities or local governments within Monroe County collect additional local sales taxes.

Here's how Monroe County's maximum sales tax rate of 9.25% compares to other counties around the United States:

  •   Lower maximum sales tax than 73% of Tennessee counties
  •   Higher maximum sales tax than 90% of counties nationwide
Last updated June 2017

Tax Rates By City in Monroe County, Tennessee

The total sales tax rate in any given location can be broken down into state, county, city, and special district rates. Tennessee has a 7.00% sales tax and Monroe County collects an additional 2.25%, so the minimum sales tax rate in Monroe County is 9.25% (not including any city or special district taxes). This table shows the total sales tax rates for all cities and towns in Monroe County, including all local taxes.

City Sales Tax Rate Tax Jurisdiction
Madisonville 9.25% Monroe County
Sweetwater 9.25% Monroe County
Tellico Plains 9.25% Monroe County
Vonore 9.25% Monroe County
Coker Creek 9.25% Monroe County

Tennessee Sales Tax Rates by Zip Code:

Need an updated list of Tennessee sales tax rates for your business? Download our Tennessee sales tax database!

Monroe County, Tennessee has a maximum sales tax rate of 9.25% and an approximate population of 33,959.

Sales tax rates in Monroe County are determined by a single tax jurisdiction, Monroe County.

  Back to Tennessee Sales Tax Handbook Sales tax rates for Monroe County are current as of June 2017
** This Document Provided By SalesTaxHandbook **