Rutherford County Tennessee Sales Tax Rate 2021 Tennessee Sales Tax Rates: Rutherford County


Rutherford County, Tennessee Sales Tax Rate 2021 Up to 9.75%

The Rutherford County Sales Tax is 2.75%

A county-wide sales tax rate of 2.75% is applicable to localities in Rutherford County, in addition to the 7% Tennessee sales tax.

None of the cities or local governments within Rutherford County collect additional local sales taxes.

Here's how Rutherford County's maximum sales tax rate of 9.75% compares to other counties around the United States:

  •   Higher maximum sales tax than any other Tennessee counties
  •   Higher maximum sales tax than 94% of counties nationwide
Last updated October 2021

Tax Rates By City in Rutherford County, Tennessee

The total sales tax rate in any given location can be broken down into state, county, city, and special district rates. Tennessee has a 7% sales tax and Rutherford County collects an additional 2.75%, so the minimum sales tax rate in Rutherford County is 9.75% (not including any city or special district taxes). This table shows the total sales tax rates for all cities and towns in Rutherford County, including all local taxes.

City Sales Tax Rate Tax Jurisdiction
Murfreesboro 9.75% Murfreesboro
Smyrna 9.75% Smyrna
La Vergne 9.75% Lavergne
Murfreesboro 9.75% Rutherford County
Christiana 9.75% Rutherford County
Rockvale 9.75% Rutherford County
Lascassas 9.75% Rutherford County
Eagleville 9.75% Rutherford County
Readyville 9.75% Rutherford County
Milton 9.75% Rutherford County
Fosterville 9.75% Rutherford County

Tennessee Sales Tax Rates by Zip Code:

Need an updated list of Tennessee sales tax rates for your business? Download our Tennessee sales tax database!

Rutherford County, Tennessee has a maximum sales tax rate of 9.75% and an approximate population of 205,672.

Sales tax rates in Rutherford County are determined by four different tax jurisdictions, Rutherford County, Smyrna, Lavergne and Murfreesboro.

  Back to Tennessee Sales Tax Handbook Sales tax rates for Rutherford County are current as of October 2021
** This Document Provided By SalesTaxHandbook **