King County Washington Sales Tax Rate 2020 Washington Sales Tax Rates: King County


King County, Washington Sales Tax Rate 2020 Up to 10.2%

King County Has No County-Level Sales Tax

While many counties do levy a countywide sales tax, King County does not. The Washington sales tax of 6.5% applies countywide. Some cities and local governments in King County collect additional local sales taxes, which can be as high as 3.7%.

Here's how King County's maximum sales tax rate of 10.2% compares to other counties around the United States:

  •   Higher maximum sales tax than 97% of Washington counties
  •   Higher maximum sales tax than 97% of counties nationwide
Last updated December 2020

Tax Rates By City in King County, Washington

The total sales tax rate in any given location can be broken down into state, county, city, and special district rates. Washington has a 6.5% sales tax and King County collects an additional N/A, so the minimum sales tax rate in King County is 6.5% (not including any city or special district taxes). This table shows the total sales tax rates for all cities and towns in King County, including all local taxes.

City Sales Tax Rate Tax Jurisdiction
Seattle 10.1% Seattle
Bellevue 10% Bellevue
Kent 10% Kent
Renton 10% Renton
Federal Way 10% Federal Way
Kirkland 10.1% Kirkland
Auburn 10% Auburn (King Co)
Redmond 10% Redmond
Seattle 10% Burien
Seattle 10.2% Shoreline
Issaquah 10% Issaquah
Sammamish 10% Sammamish
Kent 8.6% Covington
Renton 10% King County
Seattle 10% Des Moines
Seattle 10% Tukwila
Auburn 10% King County
Maple Valley 8.6% Maple Valley
Bothell 10% Bothell (King Co)
Woodinville 10% Woodinville
Mercer Island 10% Mercer Island
Seattle 10% King County
Seattle 10% Seatac
Enumclaw 8.7% Enumclaw
Kenmore 10% Kenmore
Redmond 8.6% King County Non-Rta
North Bend 8.6% King County Non-Rta
Woodinville 8.6% King County Non-Rta
Snoqualmie 8.6% Snoqualmie
Duvall 8.8% Duvall
Vashon 8.6% King County Non-Rta
Carnation 8.6% King County Non-Rta
Pacific 10% Pacific (King Co)
Fall City 8.6% King County Non-Rta
Black Diamond 8.6% Black Diamond
Ravensdale 8.6% King County Non-Rta
Medina 10% Medina
Hobart 8.6% King County Non-Rta
Preston 8.6% King County Non-Rta
Seahurst 10% Burien
Baring 8.6% King County Non-Rta
Skykomish 8.6% Skykomish

Washington Sales Tax Rates by Zip Code:

Need an updated list of Washington sales tax rates for your business? Download our Washington sales tax database!

King County, Washington has a maximum sales tax rate of 10.2% and an approximate population of 1,610,718.

Sales tax rates in King County are determined by 30 different tax jurisdictions, Kent, Covington, King County, Auburn (King Co), King County Non-Rta, Duvall, Medina, Renton, Bothell (King Co), Kenmore, Pacific (King Co), Redmond, Burien, Seatac, Seattle, Tukwila, Shoreline, Des Moines, Bellevue, Enumclaw, Issaquah, Kirkland, Sammamish, Skykomish, Snoqualmie, Federal Way, Woodinville, Maple Valley, Black Diamond and Mercer Island.

  Back to Washington Sales Tax Handbook Sales tax rates for King County are current as of December 2020
** This Document Provided By SalesTaxHandbook **