Thurston County Washington Sales Tax Rate 2024 Washington Sales Tax Rates: Thurston County


Thurston County, Washington Sales Tax Rate 2024 Up to 9.8%

Thurston County Has No County-Level Sales Tax

While many counties do levy a countywide sales tax, Thurston County does not. The Washington sales tax of 6.5% applies countywide. Some cities and local governments in Thurston County collect additional local sales taxes, which can be as high as 3.3%.

Here's how Thurston County's maximum sales tax rate of 9.8% compares to other counties around the United States:

  •   Higher maximum sales tax than 92% of Washington counties
  •   Higher maximum sales tax than 89% of counties nationwide
Last updated July 2024

Tax Rates By City in Thurston County, Washington

The total sales tax rate in any given location can be broken down into state, county, city, and special district rates. Washington has a 6.5% sales tax and Thurston County collects an additional N/A, so the minimum sales tax rate in Thurston County is 6.5% (not including any city or special district taxes). This table shows the total sales tax rates for all cities and towns in Thurston County, including all local taxes.

City Sales Tax Rate Tax Jurisdiction
Olympia 9.8% Olympia
Lacey 9.8% Olympia
Olympia 9.7% Lacey
Yelm 9.5% Yelm
Rochester 8.3% Thurston
Tenino 8.3% Thurston
Rainier 8.3% Thurston
Lacey 9.7% Lacey
Tumwater 9.7% Tumwater
East Olympia 8.3% Thurston
Littlerock 8.3% Thurston
Bucoda 8.3% Bucoda
Olympia 9.5% Thurston Ptba
La Grande 8.1% Pierce

Washington Sales Tax Rates by Zip Code:

Need an updated list of Washington sales tax rates for your business? Download our Washington sales tax database!

Thurston County, Washington has a maximum sales tax rate of 9.8% and an approximate population of 207,500.

Sales tax rates in Thurston County are determined by eight different tax jurisdictions, Bucoda, Lacey, Olympia, Pierce, Thurston, Thurston Ptba, Tumwater and Yelm.

  Back to Washington Sales Tax Handbook Sales tax rates for Thurston County are current as of July 2024
** This Document Provided By SalesTaxHandbook **