Marathon County Wisconsin Sales Tax Rate 2023 Wisconsin Sales Tax Rates: Marathon County


Marathon County, Wisconsin Sales Tax Rate 2023 Up to 5.5%

The Marathon County Sales Tax is 0.5%

A county-wide sales tax rate of 0.5% is applicable to localities in Marathon County, in addition to the 5% Wisconsin sales tax.

None of the cities or local governments within Marathon County collect additional local sales taxes.

Here's how Marathon County's maximum sales tax rate of 5.5% compares to other counties around the United States:

  •   Higher maximum sales tax than 92% of Wisconsin counties
  •   Lower maximum sales tax than 90% of counties nationwide
Last updated January 2023

Tax Rates By City in Marathon County, Wisconsin

The total sales tax rate in any given location can be broken down into state, county, city, and special district rates. Wisconsin has a 5% sales tax and Marathon County collects an additional 0.5%, so the minimum sales tax rate in Marathon County is 5.5% (not including any city or special district taxes). This table shows the total sales tax rates for all cities and towns in Marathon County, including all local taxes.

City Sales Tax Rate Tax Jurisdiction
Wausau 5.5% Marathon
Mosinee 5.5% Marathon
Schofield 5.5% Marathon
Athens 5.5% Lincoln
Stratford 5.5% Marathon
Marathon 5.5% Marathon
Edgar 5.5% Marathon
Rothschild 5.5% Marathon
Spencer 5.5% Clark
Colby 5.5% Clark
Hatley 5.5% Marathon
Abbotsford 5.5% Clark
Ringle 5.5% Marathon
Aniwa 5.5% Langlade
Eland 5.5% Marathon
Wausau 5.5% Wausau
Brokaw 5.5% Marathon
Elderon 5.5% Marathon

Wisconsin Sales Tax Rates by Zip Code:

Need an updated list of Wisconsin sales tax rates for your business? Download our Wisconsin sales tax database!

Marathon County, Wisconsin has a maximum sales tax rate of 5.5% and an approximate population of 112,875.

Sales tax rates in Marathon County are determined by five different tax jurisdictions, Langlade, Clark, Marathon, Lincoln and Wausau.

  Back to Wisconsin Sales Tax Handbook Sales tax rates for Marathon County are current as of January 2023
** This Document Provided By SalesTaxHandbook **