Milwaukee County Wisconsin Sales Tax Rate 2023 Wisconsin Sales Tax Rates: Milwaukee County


Milwaukee County, Wisconsin Sales Tax Rate 2023 Up to 5.5%

The Milwaukee County Sales Tax is 0.5%

A county-wide sales tax rate of 0.5% is applicable to localities in Milwaukee County, in addition to the 5% Wisconsin sales tax.

None of the cities or local governments within Milwaukee County collect additional local sales taxes.

Here's how Milwaukee County's maximum sales tax rate of 5.5% compares to other counties around the United States:

  •   Higher maximum sales tax than 92% of Wisconsin counties
  •   Lower maximum sales tax than 90% of counties nationwide
Last updated January 2023

Tax Rates By City in Milwaukee County, Wisconsin

The total sales tax rate in any given location can be broken down into state, county, city, and special district rates. Wisconsin has a 5% sales tax and Milwaukee County collects an additional 0.5%, so the minimum sales tax rate in Milwaukee County is 5.5% (not including any city or special district taxes). This table shows the total sales tax rates for all cities and towns in Milwaukee County, including all local taxes.

City Sales Tax Rate Tax Jurisdiction
Milwaukee 5.5% Milwaukee
Franklin 5.5% Milwaukee
Oak Creek 5.5% Oak Creek
Milwaukee 5.5% Cudahy
Milwaukee 5.5% Greenfield
Milwaukee 5.5% Glendale
South Milwaukee 5.5% Oak Creek
Milwaukee 5.5% Mequon
Cudahy 5.5% Cudahy
Greendale 5.5% Milwaukee
Saint Francis 5.5% Cudahy
Hales Corners 5.5% Milwaukee
Milwaukee 5.5% Wauwatosa

Wisconsin Sales Tax Rates by Zip Code:

Need an updated list of Wisconsin sales tax rates for your business? Download our Wisconsin sales tax database!

Milwaukee County, Wisconsin has a maximum sales tax rate of 5.5% and an approximate population of 714,978.

Sales tax rates in Milwaukee County are determined by seven different tax jurisdictions, Cudahy, Milwaukee, Mequon, Glendale, Wauwatosa, Greenfield and Oak Creek.

  Back to Wisconsin Sales Tax Handbook Sales tax rates for Milwaukee County are current as of January 2023
** This Document Provided By SalesTaxHandbook **