Monroe County Wisconsin Sales Tax Rate 2023 Wisconsin Sales Tax Rates: Monroe County


Monroe County, Wisconsin Sales Tax Rate 2023 Up to 5.5%

The Monroe County Sales Tax is 0.5%

A county-wide sales tax rate of 0.5% is applicable to localities in Monroe County, in addition to the 5% Wisconsin sales tax.

None of the cities or local governments within Monroe County collect additional local sales taxes.

Here's how Monroe County's maximum sales tax rate of 5.5% compares to other counties around the United States:

  •   Higher maximum sales tax than 92% of Wisconsin counties
  •   Lower maximum sales tax than 90% of counties nationwide
Last updated January 2023

Tax Rates By City in Monroe County, Wisconsin

The total sales tax rate in any given location can be broken down into state, county, city, and special district rates. Wisconsin has a 5% sales tax and Monroe County collects an additional 0.5%, so the minimum sales tax rate in Monroe County is 5.5% (not including any city or special district taxes). This table shows the total sales tax rates for all cities and towns in Monroe County, including all local taxes.

City Sales Tax Rate Tax Jurisdiction
Sparta 5.5% Jackson
Tomah 5.5% Monroe
Cashton 5.5% La Crosse
Warrens 5.5% Jackson
Norwalk 5.5% Monroe
Kendall 5.5% Juneau
Wilton 5.5% Monroe
Oakdale 5.5% Monroe
Cataract 5.5% Monroe
Tunnel City 5.5% Monroe

Wisconsin Sales Tax Rates by Zip Code:

Need an updated list of Wisconsin sales tax rates for your business? Download our Wisconsin sales tax database!

Monroe County, Wisconsin has a maximum sales tax rate of 5.5% and an approximate population of 36,561.

Sales tax rates in Monroe County are determined by four different tax jurisdictions, Monroe, Jackson, La Crosse and Juneau.

  Back to Wisconsin Sales Tax Handbook Sales tax rates for Monroe County are current as of January 2023
** This Document Provided By SalesTaxHandbook **