Vernon County Wisconsin Sales Tax Rate 2023 Wisconsin Sales Tax Rates: Vernon County


Vernon County, Wisconsin Sales Tax Rate 2023 Up to 5.5%

The Vernon County Sales Tax is 0.5%

A county-wide sales tax rate of 0.5% is applicable to localities in Vernon County, in addition to the 5% Wisconsin sales tax.

None of the cities or local governments within Vernon County collect additional local sales taxes.

Here's how Vernon County's maximum sales tax rate of 5.5% compares to other counties around the United States:

  •   Higher maximum sales tax than 92% of Wisconsin counties
  •   Lower maximum sales tax than 90% of counties nationwide
Last updated January 2023

Tax Rates By City in Vernon County, Wisconsin

The total sales tax rate in any given location can be broken down into state, county, city, and special district rates. Wisconsin has a 5% sales tax and Vernon County collects an additional 0.5%, so the minimum sales tax rate in Vernon County is 5.5% (not including any city or special district taxes). This table shows the total sales tax rates for all cities and towns in Vernon County, including all local taxes.

City Sales Tax Rate Tax Jurisdiction
Viroqua 5.5% Vernon
Westby 5.5% La Crosse
Hillsboro 5.5% Juneau
Stoddard 5.5% La Crosse
Coon Valley 5.5% La Crosse
La Farge 5.5% Richland
De Soto 5.5% Crawford
Genoa 5.5% Vernon
Chaseburg 5.5% Vernon
Ontario 5.5% Monroe
Readstown 5.5% Vernon

Wisconsin Sales Tax Rates by Zip Code:

Need an updated list of Wisconsin sales tax rates for your business? Download our Wisconsin sales tax database!

Vernon County, Wisconsin has a maximum sales tax rate of 5.5% and an approximate population of 24,039.

Sales tax rates in Vernon County are determined by six different tax jurisdictions, Vernon, La Crosse, Crawford, Monroe, Richland and Juneau.

  Back to Wisconsin Sales Tax Handbook Sales tax rates for Vernon County are current as of January 2023
** This Document Provided By SalesTaxHandbook **