Choctaw County Alabama Sales Tax Rate 2023 Alabama Sales Tax Rates: Choctaw County


Choctaw County, Alabama Sales Tax Rate 2023 Up to 10%

The Choctaw County Sales Tax is 1%

A county-wide sales tax rate of 1% is applicable to localities in Choctaw County, in addition to the 4% Alabama sales tax.

Some cities and local governments in Choctaw County collect additional local sales taxes, which can be as high as 5%.

Here's how Choctaw County's maximum sales tax rate of 10% compares to other counties around the United States:

  •   Higher maximum sales tax than 76% of Alabama counties
  •   Higher maximum sales tax than 93% of counties nationwide
Last updated September 2023

Tax Rates By City in Choctaw County, Alabama

The total sales tax rate in any given location can be broken down into state, county, city, and special district rates. Alabama has a 4% sales tax and Choctaw County collects an additional 1%, so the minimum sales tax rate in Choctaw County is 5% (not including any city or special district taxes). This table shows the total sales tax rates for all cities and towns in Choctaw County, including all local taxes.

City Sales Tax Rate Tax Jurisdiction
Butler 10% Butler
Gilbertown 9% Gilbertown
Silas 10% Millry
Lisman 10% Lisman
Toxey 10% Butler
Pennington 10% Pennington
Jachin 7% Choctaw
Melvin 7% Choctaw
Needham 8% Needham

Alabama Sales Tax Rates by Zip Code:

Need an updated list of Alabama sales tax rates for your business? Download our Alabama sales tax database!

Choctaw County, Alabama has a maximum sales tax rate of 10% and an approximate population of 9,577.

Sales tax rates in Choctaw County are determined by seven different tax jurisdictions, Butler, Choctaw, Gilbertown, Lisman, Millry, Needham and Pennington.

  Back to Alabama Sales Tax Handbook Sales tax rates for Choctaw County are current as of September 2023
** This Document Provided By SalesTaxHandbook **