Lamar County Alabama Sales Tax Rate 2024 Alabama Sales Tax Rates: Lamar County


Lamar County, Alabama Sales Tax Rate 2024 Up to 9.5%

The Lamar County Sales Tax is 2%

A county-wide sales tax rate of 2% is applicable to localities in Lamar County, in addition to the 4% Alabama sales tax.

Some cities and local governments in Lamar County collect additional local sales taxes, which can be as high as 3.5%.

Here's how Lamar County's maximum sales tax rate of 9.5% compares to other counties around the United States:

  •   Lower maximum sales tax than 87% of Alabama counties
  •   Higher maximum sales tax than 85% of counties nationwide
Last updated February 2024

Tax Rates By City in Lamar County, Alabama

The total sales tax rate in any given location can be broken down into state, county, city, and special district rates. Alabama has a 4% sales tax and Lamar County collects an additional 2%, so the minimum sales tax rate in Lamar County is 6% (not including any city or special district taxes). This table shows the total sales tax rates for all cities and towns in Lamar County, including all local taxes.

City Sales Tax Rate Tax Jurisdiction
Vernon 9% Vernon
Sulligent 9.5% Sulligent
Millport 9% Millport
Kennedy 9% Tuscaloosa
Detroit 8% Detroit
Beaverton 8% Beaverton

Alabama Sales Tax Rates by Zip Code:

Need an updated list of Alabama sales tax rates for your business? Download our Alabama sales tax database!

Lamar County, Alabama has a maximum sales tax rate of 9.5% and an approximate population of 11,798.

Sales tax rates in Lamar County are determined by six different tax jurisdictions, Beaverton, Detroit, Millport, Sulligent, Tuscaloosa and Vernon.

  Back to Alabama Sales Tax Handbook Sales tax rates for Lamar County are current as of February 2024
** This Document Provided By SalesTaxHandbook **