Limestone County Alabama Sales Tax Rate 2023 Alabama Sales Tax Rates: Limestone County


Limestone County, Alabama Sales Tax Rate 2023 Up to 10.5%

The Limestone County Sales Tax is 2%

A county-wide sales tax rate of 2% is applicable to localities in Limestone County, in addition to the 4% Alabama sales tax.

Some cities and local governments in Limestone County collect additional local sales taxes, which can be as high as 4.5%.

Here's how Limestone County's maximum sales tax rate of 10.5% compares to other counties around the United States:

  •   Higher maximum sales tax than 82% of Alabama counties
  •   Higher maximum sales tax than 96% of counties nationwide
Last updated December 2023

Tax Rates By City in Limestone County, Alabama

The total sales tax rate in any given location can be broken down into state, county, city, and special district rates. Alabama has a 4% sales tax and Limestone County collects an additional 2%, so the minimum sales tax rate in Limestone County is 6% (not including any city or special district taxes). This table shows the total sales tax rates for all cities and towns in Limestone County, including all local taxes.

City Sales Tax Rate Tax Jurisdiction
Madison 10.5% Huntsville
Athens 9% Athens
Athens 10.5% Huntsville
Elkmont 8% Elkmont
Ardmore 9% Ardmore
Tanner 10.5% Huntsville
Lester 6% Lester
Capshaw 6% Limestone
Belle Mina 8% Limestone
Mooresville 6% Limestone

Alabama Sales Tax Rates by Zip Code:

Need an updated list of Alabama sales tax rates for your business? Download our Alabama sales tax database!

Limestone County, Alabama has a maximum sales tax rate of 10.5% and an approximate population of 108,151.

Sales tax rates in Limestone County are determined by six different tax jurisdictions, Ardmore, Athens, Elkmont, Huntsville, Lester and Limestone.

  Back to Alabama Sales Tax Handbook Sales tax rates for Limestone County are current as of December 2023
** This Document Provided By SalesTaxHandbook **