Shelby County Alabama Sales Tax Rate 2024 Alabama Sales Tax Rates: Shelby County


Shelby County, Alabama Sales Tax Rate 2024 Up to 12%

The Shelby County Sales Tax is 4%

A county-wide sales tax rate of 4% is applicable to localities in Shelby County, in addition to the 4% Alabama sales tax.

Some cities and local governments in Shelby County collect additional local sales taxes, which can be as high as 4%.

Here's how Shelby County's maximum sales tax rate of 12% compares to other counties around the United States:

  •   Higher maximum sales tax than 99% of Alabama counties
  •   Higher maximum sales tax than 100% of counties nationwide
Last updated July 2024

Tax Rates By City in Shelby County, Alabama

The total sales tax rate in any given location can be broken down into state, county, city, and special district rates. Alabama has a 4% sales tax and Shelby County collects an additional 4%, so the minimum sales tax rate in Shelby County is 8% (not including any city or special district taxes). This table shows the total sales tax rates for all cities and towns in Shelby County, including all local taxes.

City Sales Tax Rate Tax Jurisdiction
Alabaster 10% Alabaster
Pelham 10% Alabaster
Helena 10% Alabaster
Calera 12% Calera
Montevallo 10% Calera Pj
Chelsea 10% Chelsea
Columbiana 10% Chelsea
Maylene 10% Alabaster
Sterrett 10% Chelsea
Wilsonville 10% Chelsea
Vincent 9% Vincent
Shelby 8% Chilton
Harpersville 10% Westover
Vandiver 5% Shelby
Saginaw 7% Calera Pj
Siluria 10% Alabaster
Westover 10% Westover

Alabama Sales Tax Rates by Zip Code:

Need an updated list of Alabama sales tax rates for your business? Download our Alabama sales tax database!

Shelby County, Alabama has a maximum sales tax rate of 12% and an approximate population of 111,217.

Sales tax rates in Shelby County are determined by eight different tax jurisdictions, Alabaster, Calera, Calera Pj, Chelsea, Chilton, Shelby, Vincent and Westover.

  Back to Alabama Sales Tax Handbook Sales tax rates for Shelby County are current as of July 2024
** This Document Provided By SalesTaxHandbook **