Sumter County Alabama Sales Tax Rate 2020 Alabama Sales Tax Rates: Sumter County


Sumter County, Alabama Sales Tax Rate 2020 Up to 7%

The Sumter County Sales Tax is 3%

A county-wide sales tax rate of 3% is applicable to localities in Sumter County, in addition to the 0% Alabama sales tax.

Some cities and local governments in Sumter County collect additional local sales taxes, which can be as high as 4%.

Here's how Sumter County's maximum sales tax rate of 7% compares to other counties around the United States:

  •   Lower maximum sales tax than 75% of Alabama counties
  •   Lower maximum sales tax than 64% of counties nationwide
Last updated October 2020

Tax Rates By City in Sumter County, Alabama

The total sales tax rate in any given location can be broken down into state, county, city, and special district rates. Alabama has a 0% sales tax and Sumter County collects an additional 3%, so the minimum sales tax rate in Sumter County is 7% (not including any city or special district taxes). This table shows the total sales tax rates for all cities and towns in Sumter County, including all local taxes.

City Sales Tax Rate Tax Jurisdiction
Livingston 7% Sumter County
York 7% York
Cuba 7% Sumter County
Emelle 7% Sumter County
Ward 3% Choctaw County
Epes 7% Sumter County
Panola 7% Sumter County
Bellamy 7% Sumter County
Gainesville 7% Sumter County

Alabama Sales Tax Rates by Zip Code:

Need an updated list of Alabama sales tax rates for your business? Download our Alabama sales tax database!

Sumter County, Alabama has a maximum sales tax rate of 7% and an approximate population of 8,831.

Sales tax rates in Sumter County are determined by three different tax jurisdictions, Sumter County, Choctaw County and York.

  Back to Alabama Sales Tax Handbook Sales tax rates for Sumter County are current as of October 2020
** This Document Provided By SalesTaxHandbook **