Maricopa County Arizona Sales Tax Rate 2021 Arizona Sales Tax Rates: Maricopa County


Maricopa County, Arizona Sales Tax Rate 2021 Up to 9.8%

The Maricopa County Sales Tax is 0.7%

A county-wide sales tax rate of 0.7% is applicable to localities in Maricopa County, in addition to the 5.6% Arizona sales tax.

Some cities and local governments in Maricopa County collect additional local sales taxes, which can be as high as 3.5%.

Here's how Maricopa County's maximum sales tax rate of 9.8% compares to other counties around the United States:

  •   Higher maximum sales tax than 53% of Arizona counties
  •   Higher maximum sales tax than 95% of counties nationwide
Last updated June 2021

Tax Rates By City in Maricopa County, Arizona

The total sales tax rate in any given location can be broken down into state, county, city, and special district rates. Arizona has a 5.6% sales tax and Maricopa County collects an additional 0.7%, so the minimum sales tax rate in Maricopa County is 6.3% (not including any city or special district taxes). This table shows the total sales tax rates for all cities and towns in Maricopa County, including all local taxes.

City Sales Tax Rate Tax Jurisdiction
Phoenix 8.6% Phoenix
Mesa 8.3% Mesa
Chandler 7.8% Chandler
Glendale 9.2% Glendale
Scottsdale 8.05% Scottsdale
Gilbert 7.8% Gilbert
Peoria 8.1% Peoria (Maricopa Co)
Tempe 8.1% Tempe
Surprise 8.5% Surprise
Avondale 8.8% Avondale
Goodyear 8.8% Goodyear
Buckeye 9.3% Buckeye
Scottsdale 8.6% Phoenix
Sun City 6.3% Maricopa County
Phoenix 6.3% Maricopa County
Laveen 8.6% Phoenix
El Mirage 9.3% El Mirage
Sun City West 6.3% Maricopa County
Tolleson 8.6% Phoenix
Litchfield Park 6.3% Maricopa County
Cave Creek 8.6% Phoenix
Fountain Hills 9.2% Fountain Hills
Glendale 8.6% Phoenix
Paradise Valley 8.8% Paradise Valley
Waddell 6.3% Maricopa County
New River 6.3% Maricopa County
Wickenburg 8.5% Wickenburg
Wittmann 6.3% Maricopa County
Youngtown 9.3% Youngtown
Tonopah 6.3% Maricopa County
Queen Creek 8.55% Queen Creek (Maricopa Co)
Carefree 9.3% Carefree
Scottsdale 8.05% Salt River Pima-Maricopa Res./Maricopa Co
Cashion 8.8% Avondale
Cave Creek 9.3% Cave Creek
Gila Bend 9.8% Gila Bend
Rio Verde 6.3% Maricopa County
Higley 7.8% Gilbert
Morristown 6.3% Maricopa County
Aguila 6.3% Maricopa County
Fort Mcdowell 6.3% Maricopa County
Glendale Luke Afb 9.2% Glendale
Arlington 6.3% Maricopa County
Palo Verde 6.3% Maricopa County
Chandler Heights 8.55% Queen Creek (Maricopa Co)

Arizona Sales Tax Rates by Zip Code:

Need an updated list of Arizona sales tax rates for your business? Download our Arizona sales tax database!

Maricopa County, Arizona has a maximum sales tax rate of 9.8% and an approximate population of 2,817,425.

Sales tax rates in Maricopa County are determined by 23 different tax jurisdictions, Mesa, Tempe, Maricopa County, Gilbert, Phoenix, Peoria (Maricopa Co), Buckeye, Avondale, Carefree, Chandler, Glendale, Goodyear, Surprise, El Mirage, Gila Bend, Youngtown, Cave Creek, Scottsdale, Salt River Pima-Maricopa Res./Maricopa Co, Wickenburg, Queen Creek (Maricopa Co), Fountain Hills and Paradise Valley.

  Back to Arizona Sales Tax Handbook Sales tax rates for Maricopa County are current as of June 2021
** This Document Provided By SalesTaxHandbook **