Clayton County Iowa Sales Tax Rate 2022 Iowa Sales Tax Rates: Clayton County


Clayton County, Iowa Sales Tax Rate 2022 Up to 7%

The Clayton County Sales Tax is 1%

A county-wide sales tax rate of 1% is applicable to localities in Clayton County, in addition to the 6% Iowa sales tax.

Some cities and local governments in Clayton County collect additional local sales taxes, which can be as high as 8.8817841970013E-16%.

Here's how Clayton County's maximum sales tax rate of 7% compares to other counties around the United States:

  •   Lower maximum sales tax than 100% of Iowa counties
  •   Lower maximum sales tax than 71% of counties nationwide
Last updated October 2022

Tax Rates By City in Clayton County, Iowa

The total sales tax rate in any given location can be broken down into state, county, city, and special district rates. Iowa has a 6% sales tax and Clayton County collects an additional 1%, so the minimum sales tax rate in Clayton County is 7% (not including any city or special district taxes). This table shows the total sales tax rates for all cities and towns in Clayton County, including all local taxes.

City Sales Tax Rate Tax Jurisdiction
Guttenberg 7% Guttenberg
Monona 7% Luana
Elkader 7% Elkader
Strawberry Point 7% Strawberry Point
Mc Gregor 7% Marquette
Edgewood 7% Edgewood
Garnavillo 7% Clayton
Colesburg 7% Colesburg
Luana 7% Luana
Farmersburg 7% Farmersburg
Volga 7% Volga
Garber 7% Elkport
Elkport 7% Elkport
Marquette 7% Marquette
Saint Olaf 7% Saint Olaf
North Buena Vista 7% North Buena Vista

Iowa Sales Tax Rates by Zip Code:

Need an updated list of Iowa sales tax rates for your business? Download our Iowa sales tax database!

Clayton County, Iowa has a maximum sales tax rate of 7% and an approximate population of 14,348.

Sales tax rates in Clayton County are determined by thirteen different tax jurisdictions, Luana, Volga, Elkport, Elkader, Edgewood, Colesburg, Marquette, Clayton, Guttenberg, Saint Olaf, Farmersburg, Strawberry Point and North Buena Vista.

  Back to Iowa Sales Tax Handbook Sales tax rates for Clayton County are current as of October 2022
** This Document Provided By SalesTaxHandbook **