Monroe County Iowa Sales Tax Rate 2022 Iowa Sales Tax Rates: Monroe County


Monroe County, Iowa Sales Tax Rate 2022 Up to 7%

The Monroe County Sales Tax is 1%

A county-wide sales tax rate of 1% is applicable to localities in Monroe County, in addition to the 6% Iowa sales tax.

Some cities and local governments in Monroe County collect additional local sales taxes, which can be as high as 8.8817841970013E-16%.

Here's how Monroe County's maximum sales tax rate of 7% compares to other counties around the United States:

  •   Lower maximum sales tax than 100% of Iowa counties
  •   Lower maximum sales tax than 71% of counties nationwide
Last updated October 2022

Tax Rates By City in Monroe County, Iowa

The total sales tax rate in any given location can be broken down into state, county, city, and special district rates. Iowa has a 6% sales tax and Monroe County collects an additional 1%, so the minimum sales tax rate in Monroe County is 7% (not including any city or special district taxes). This table shows the total sales tax rates for all cities and towns in Monroe County, including all local taxes.

City Sales Tax Rate Tax Jurisdiction
Albia 7% Albia
Lovilia 7% Lovilia
Melrose 7% Melrose

Iowa Sales Tax Rates by Zip Code:

Need an updated list of Iowa sales tax rates for your business? Download our Iowa sales tax database!

Monroe County, Iowa has a maximum sales tax rate of 7% and an approximate population of 5,978.

Sales tax rates in Monroe County are determined by three different tax jurisdictions, Albia, Lovilia and Melrose.

  Back to Iowa Sales Tax Handbook Sales tax rates for Monroe County are current as of October 2022
** This Document Provided By SalesTaxHandbook **