Shelby County Iowa Sales Tax Rate 2022 Iowa Sales Tax Rates: Shelby County


Shelby County, Iowa Sales Tax Rate 2022 Up to 7%

The Shelby County Sales Tax is 1%

A county-wide sales tax rate of 1% is applicable to localities in Shelby County, in addition to the 6% Iowa sales tax.

Some cities and local governments in Shelby County collect additional local sales taxes, which can be as high as 8.8817841970013E-16%.

Here's how Shelby County's maximum sales tax rate of 7% compares to other counties around the United States:

  •   Lower maximum sales tax than 100% of Iowa counties
  •   Lower maximum sales tax than 71% of counties nationwide
Last updated September 2022

Tax Rates By City in Shelby County, Iowa

The total sales tax rate in any given location can be broken down into state, county, city, and special district rates. Iowa has a 6% sales tax and Shelby County collects an additional 1%, so the minimum sales tax rate in Shelby County is 7% (not including any city or special district taxes). This table shows the total sales tax rates for all cities and towns in Shelby County, including all local taxes.

City Sales Tax Rate Tax Jurisdiction
Harlan 7% Westphalia
Shelby 7% Shelby
Elk Horn 7% Elk Horn
Earling 7% Earling
Defiance 7% Defiance
Portsmouth 7% Portsmouth
Irwin 7% Irwin
Harlan 7% Harlan
Panama 7% Panama
Kirkman 7% Kirkman
Westphalia 7% Westphalia

Iowa Sales Tax Rates by Zip Code:

Need an updated list of Iowa sales tax rates for your business? Download our Iowa sales tax database!

Shelby County, Iowa has a maximum sales tax rate of 7% and an approximate population of 9,538.

Sales tax rates in Shelby County are determined by ten different tax jurisdictions, Irwin, Harlan, Westphalia, Panama, Shelby, Earling, Kirkman, Defiance, Elk Horn and Portsmouth.

  Back to Iowa Sales Tax Handbook Sales tax rates for Shelby County are current as of September 2022
** This Document Provided By SalesTaxHandbook **