Buffalo County South Dakota Sales Tax Rate 2024 South Dakota Sales Tax Rates: Buffalo County

South Dakota:

Buffalo County, South Dakota Sales Tax Rate 2024 Up to 4.2%

Buffalo County Has No County-Level Sales Tax

While many counties do levy a countywide sales tax, Buffalo County does not. The South Dakota sales tax of 4.2% applies countywide. None of the cities or local governments within Buffalo County collect additional local sales taxes.

Here's how Buffalo County's maximum sales tax rate of 4.2% compares to other counties around the United States:

  •   Lower maximum sales tax than 97% of South Dakota counties
  •   Lower maximum sales tax than 96% of counties nationwide
Last updated June 2024

Tax Rates By City in Buffalo County, South Dakota

The total sales tax rate in any given location can be broken down into state, county, city, and special district rates. South Dakota has a 4.2% sales tax and Buffalo County collects an additional N/A, so the minimum sales tax rate in Buffalo County is 4.2% (not including any city or special district taxes). This table shows the total sales tax rates for all cities and towns in Buffalo County, including all local taxes.

City Sales Tax Rate Tax Jurisdiction
Fort Thompson 4.2% Hyde County Crow Creek Special Jurisdiction Sp
Gann Valley 4.2% Buffalo

South Dakota Sales Tax Rates by Zip Code:

Need an updated list of South Dakota sales tax rates for your business? Download our South Dakota sales tax database!

Buffalo County, South Dakota has a maximum sales tax rate of 4.2% and an approximate population of 969.

Sales tax rates in Buffalo County are determined by two different tax jurisdictions, Buffalo and Hyde County Crow Creek Special Jurisdiction Sp.

  Back to South Dakota Sales Tax Handbook Sales tax rates for Buffalo County are current as of June 2024
** This Document Provided By SalesTaxHandbook **
Source: http://www.salestaxhandbook.com/south-dakota/rates/buffalo-county