South Dakota: Sales Tax Handbook
How to get a South Dakota Sales Tax License
In South Dakota, most businesses are required to have a sales tax permit. This means that, if you are considering opening a new business or are beginning to make sales in South Dakota for the first time, you will need to determine your business' permit requirements. The good news is that you can get a South Dakota Sales Tax License and be ready to do business 1-5 days after you submit your application. This guide will help you learn how!
Who needs a South Dakota Sales Tax License?
South Dakota law states that "the sales tax applies to the gross receipts of all retail sales, including the sale, lease, or rental of tangible personal property or any product transferred electronically, and the sale of services". Therefore, any business or individual engaged in such sales within the state is required to have a South Dakota sales tax permit and collect tax on the purchase.
Businesses with a taxable presence within South Dakota are considered to have sales tax nexus within the state. For more details on what constitutes a taxable presence, see sales tax nexus in South Dakota.
How to get a South Dakota Sales Tax License:
You can register your business for a sales tax permit with the South Dakota Department of Revenue's e-services center. Once your application is approved, you will receive a license card.
You must have a separate license for each business location you operate, but you may be eligible to apply for consolidated filing.
If you cannot or do not wish to file online, you can visit a local DOR field office or call the South Dakota Department of
Revenue toll-free at 1-800-829-9188.
You need the following information to apply for a South Dakota Sales Tax License:
Type of ownership,
Personal information of business owners; partners; officers; and members
South Dakota Sales Tax License Application Fee, Turnaround Time, and Renewal Info
You will need to pay an application fee when you apply for a South Dakota Sales Tax License, and you will receive your permit 1-5 days after filing your application.
Application Fee: FREE
Turnaround Time: 1-5 days
Permit Renewals: No Renewals Needed
Apply For Your South Dakota Sales Tax License Now:
Get Your South Dakota Sales Tax License Online
You can easily acquire your South Dakota Sales Tax License online using the South Dakota Tax Application website. If you have quetions about the online permit application process, you can contact the Department of Revenue via the sales tax permit hotline or by checking the permit info website .Apply Online Now with South Dakota Tax Application
Offline South Dakota Sales Tax License Application Form
No offline application form is available. You can apply for your South Dakota Sales Tax License online using the South Dakota Tax Application website using the above link!
What's Next? Now that you know how to apply for your South Dakota Sales Tax License, learn how to collect and remit the South Dakota sales tax.
Simplify South Dakota sales tax compliance! We provide sales tax rate databases for businesses who manage their own sales taxes, and can also connect you with firms that can completely automate the sales tax calculation and filing process. Click here to get more information.
Back to South Dakota Sales Tax Handbook Top