Louisiana: Sales Tax Handbook
How to get a Louisiana Sales Tax License
In Louisiana, most businesses are required to have a sales tax permit. This means that, if you are considering opening a new business or are beginning to make sales in Louisiana for the first time, you will need to determine your business' permit requirements. The good news is that you can get a Louisiana Sales Tax License and be ready to do business 3-4 weeks after you submit your application. This guide will help you learn how!
Who needs a Louisiana Sales Tax License?
Louisiana law states that "if a seller or lessor qualifies as a dealer under the definition of the term at R.S. 47:301(4), they must apply for a sales tax certificate, collect the proper taxes from customers, and file returns with the Department of Revenue". A seller or lessor will qualify as a dealer subject to tax collection requirements if they lease, rent, or sell tangible personal property in the state, furnish services in the state that are taxable under the statute, hold property in the state for resale, maintain a business location in the state, operate in the state through full-time or part-time resident or nonresident salesmen or agents, maintain an inventory in the state of tangible personal property for lease or rental, or deliver in a vehicle owned or operated by the seller.
Businesses with a taxable presence within Louisiana are considered to have sales tax nexus within the state. For more details on what constitutes a taxable presence, see sales tax nexus in Louisiana.
How to get a Louisiana Sales Tax License:
You can apply for a sales tax license when you register your business with the Louisiana Department of Revenue on Form CR-1. You are required to apply at least a month prior to beginning operations to ensure that you receive your license in time.
Once your license is approved, you are required to file sales tax returns monthly, with payment due on or before the 20th of the month following the close of the reporting period. If you file your tax returns on time, you can receive 1.1% of the tax collected as compensation.
You need the following information to apply for a Louisiana Sales Tax License:
Date beginning sales operations,
Description of business
Louisiana Sales Tax License Application Fee, Turnaround Time, and Renewal Info
You will need to pay an application fee when you apply for a Louisiana Sales Tax License, and you will receive your permit 3-4 weeks after filing your application.
Application Fee: FREE
Turnaround Time: 3-4 weeks
Permit Renewals: No Renewals Needed
Apply For Your Louisiana Sales Tax License Now:
Get Your Louisiana Sales Tax License Online
You can easily acquire your Louisiana Sales Tax License online using the LaTAP website. If you have quetions about the online permit application process, you can contact the Department of Revenue via the sales tax permit hotline (225) 219-7318 or by checking the permit info website .Apply Online Now with LaTAP
Offline Louisiana Sales Tax License Application Form
While generally slower than applying online, you can apply for a Louisiana Sales Tax License for your business offline using Form CR-1, the "Application for Revenue Account Number". Form CR-1 can be downloaded from the Department of Revenue here .
Mail Completed Form CR-1 To:Louisiana Department of Revenue
P.O. Box 201
Baton Rouge, LA 70821-0201
What's Next? Now that you know how to apply for your Louisiana Sales Tax License, learn how to collect and remit the Louisiana sales tax.
Simplify Louisiana sales tax compliance! We provide sales tax rate databases for businesses who manage their own sales taxes, and can also connect you with firms that can completely automate the sales tax calculation and filing process. Click here to get more information.
Back to Louisiana Sales Tax Handbook Top