Minnesota: Sales Tax Handbook
How to get a Minnesota Tax ID
In Minnesota, most businesses are required to have a sales tax permit. This means that, if you are considering opening a new business or are beginning to make sales in Minnesota for the first time, you will need to determine your business' permit requirements. The good news is that you can get a Minnesota Tax ID and be ready to do business immediately after you submit your application. This guide will help you learn how!
Who needs a Minnesota Tax ID?
Minnesota law states that you must register for a Tax ID (which is used to report sales taxes) if your business:
- have an office, distribution, sales, or sample room location, warehouse or other place of business in Minnesota, either directly or by a subsidiary
- have a representative, agent, salesperson, canvasser, or solicitor in Minnesota, on either a permanent or temporary basis, who operates under the authority of the retailer or its subsidiary for any purpose, such as repairing, selling, delivering, installing, soliciting orders for the retailer's goods or services, or leasing tangible items in Minnesota
- deliver items into Minnesota in their own vehicles
- provide taxable services in Minnesota
- have entered into an agreement with a solicitor for the referral of Minnesota customers for a commission and your gross receipts over 12 months is at least $10,000
Businesses with a taxable presence within Minnesota are considered to have sales tax nexus within the state. For more details on what constitutes a taxable presence, see sales tax nexus in Minnesota.
How to get a Minnesota Tax ID:
You can apply for a Minnesota Sales Tax ID by submitting Form ABR via mail or through the Minnesota eServices Website. You will get a Minnesota Tax ID Number, which will be used for your sales tax transactions as well as other Minnesota business taxes you may incur. If you have multiple locations, you can manage them all under the same Tax ID.
You can also ask questions or register for a Tax ID over the phone by calling the Minnesota Department of Revenue at 651-296-6181 (or toll-free at 1-800-657-3777).
You need the following information to apply for a Minnesota Tax ID:
Business name, address, EIN
Names and SSNs of owners / operators,
Email address and name of a contact person
Minnesota Tax ID Application Fee, Turnaround Time, and Renewal Info
You will need to pay an application fee when you apply for a Minnesota Tax ID, and you will receive your permit immediately after filing your application.
Application Fee: FREE
Turnaround Time: Immediately
Permit Renewals: No Renewals Needed
Note about permit renewals:Minnesota requires that all bsuinesses file an "Annual Business Renewal" form by December 31st each year, which will effectively renew your Minnesota sales tax permit and Tax ID. You can file your Annual Business Renewal online.
Apply For Your Minnesota Tax ID Now:
Get Your Minnesota Tax ID Online
You can easily acquire your Minnesota Tax ID online using the Business Tax Registration website. If you have quetions about the online permit application process, you can contact the Department of Revenue via the sales tax permit hotline (800) 657-3605 or by checking the permit info website .Apply Online Now with Business Tax Registration
Offline Minnesota Tax ID Application Form
While generally slower than applying online, you can apply for a Minnesota Tax ID for your business offline using Form ABR, the "Application for Business Registration". Form ABR can be downloaded from the Department of Revenue here .
Mail Completed Form ABR To:Minnesota Revenue
Mail Station 4410
St. Paul, MN 55146-4410
Alternately, you can fax Form ABR to the Department of Revenue at (651) 556-5155.
What's Next? Now that you know how to apply for your Minnesota Tax ID, learn how to collect and remit the Minnesota sales tax.
Simplify Minnesota sales tax compliance! We provide sales tax rate databases for businesses who manage their own sales taxes, and can also connect you with firms that can completely automate the sales tax calculation and filing process. Click here to get more information.
Back to Minnesota Sales Tax Handbook Top