Connecticut: Sales Tax Handbook
How to get a Connecticut Sales Tax Permit
In Connecticut, most businesses are required to have a sales tax permit. This means that, if you are considering opening a new business or are beginning to make sales in Connecticut for the first time, you will need to determine your business' permit requirements. The good news is that you can get a Connecticut Sales Tax Permit and be ready to do business immediately after you submit your application. This guide will help you learn how!
Who needs a Connecticut Sales Tax Permit?
Any individual or business in Connecticut which engages in the sale of tangible personal property or certain taxable services intended for "storage, use or other consumption" within Connecticut must obtain a Connecticut Sales and Use Tax Permit. A separate permit must be obtained for each business location. Failure to obtain a tax permit prior to beginning operations can result in a fine of $500 and/or three months imprisonment for each offence.
Businesses with a taxable presence within Connecticut are considered to have sales tax nexus within the state. For more details on what constitutes a taxable presence, see sales tax nexus in Connecticut.
How to get a Connecticut Sales Tax Permit:
When you register online with the CT Department of Revenue Services or inperson at a local field office, you will immediately get a temporary sales tax permit so you can begin operations. Your permanent permit will arrive within 15 days. If you use Form REG-1 to apply, it will take 2-3 weeks to be processed.
You need the following information to apply for a Connecticut Sales Tax Permit:
Business identification information,
Major business activity,
Business entity type,
A business owners and officers' information
Connecticut Sales Tax Permit Application Fee, Turnaround Time, and Renewal Info
Applying for a Connecticut Sales Tax Permit is free, and you will receive your permit immediately after filing your application.
Application Fee: $100
Turnaround Time: Immediately
Permit Renewals: Every 5 years
Note about permit renewals:Your Connecticut Sales Tax Permit must be renewed every 5 years, with no renewal fee as long as your account is active and in good standing.
Apply For Your Connecticut Sales Tax Permit Now:
Get Your Connecticut Sales Tax Permit Online
You can easily acquire your Connecticut Sales Tax Permit online using the Taxpayer Service Center website. If you have quetions about the online permit application process, you can contact the Department of Revenue Services via the sales tax permit hotline or by checking the permit info website .Apply Online Now with Taxpayer Service Center
Offline Connecticut Sales Tax Permit Application Form
While generally slower than applying online, you can apply for a Connecticut Sales Tax Permit for your business offline using Form REG-1, the "Business Taxes Registration Application". Form REG-1 can be downloaded from the Department of Revenue Services here .
Mail Completed Form REG-1 To:Department of Revenue Services State of Connecticut
PO Box 2937
Hartford CT 06104-2937
What's Next? Now that you know how to apply for your Connecticut Sales Tax Permit, learn how to collect and remit the Connecticut sales tax.
Simplify Connecticut sales tax compliance! We provide sales tax rate databases for businesses who manage their own sales taxes, and can also connect you with firms that can completely automate the sales tax calculation and filing process. Click here to get more information.
Back to Connecticut Sales Tax Handbook Top