Union County South Dakota Sales Tax Rate 2024 South Dakota Sales Tax Rates: Union County

South Dakota:

Union County, South Dakota Sales Tax Rate 2024 Up to 6.2%

Union County Has No County-Level Sales Tax

While many counties do levy a countywide sales tax, Union County does not. The South Dakota sales tax of 4.2% applies countywide. Some cities and local governments in Union County collect additional local sales taxes, which can be as high as 2%.

Here's how Union County's maximum sales tax rate of 6.2% compares to other counties around the United States:

  •   Higher maximum sales tax than 98% of South Dakota counties
  •   Lower maximum sales tax than 75% of counties nationwide
Last updated June 2024

Tax Rates By City in Union County, South Dakota

The total sales tax rate in any given location can be broken down into state, county, city, and special district rates. South Dakota has a 4.2% sales tax and Union County collects an additional N/A, so the minimum sales tax rate in Union County is 4.2% (not including any city or special district taxes). This table shows the total sales tax rates for all cities and towns in Union County, including all local taxes.

City Sales Tax Rate Tax Jurisdiction
North Sioux City 6.2% North Sioux City
Beresford 6.2% Beresford
Elk Point 6.2% Elk Point
Jefferson 6.2% Jefferson
Alcester 6.2% Alcester

South Dakota Sales Tax Rates by Zip Code:

Need an updated list of South Dakota sales tax rates for your business? Download our South Dakota sales tax database!

Union County, South Dakota has a maximum sales tax rate of 6.2% and an approximate population of 13,817.

Sales tax rates in Union County are determined by five different tax jurisdictions, Alcester, Beresford, Elk Point, Jefferson and North Sioux City.

  Back to South Dakota Sales Tax Handbook Sales tax rates for Union County are current as of June 2024
** This Document Provided By SalesTaxHandbook **
Source: http://www.salestaxhandbook.com/south-dakota/rates/union-county