Taylor County Texas Sales Tax Rate 2023 Texas Sales Tax Rates: Taylor County


Taylor County, Texas Sales Tax Rate 2023 Up to 8.25%

Taylor County Has No County-Level Sales Tax

While many counties do levy a countywide sales tax, Taylor County does not. The Texas sales tax of 6.25% applies countywide. Some cities and local governments in Taylor County collect additional local sales taxes, which can be as high as 2%.

Here's how Taylor County's maximum sales tax rate of 8.25% compares to other counties around the United States:

  •   Higher maximum sales tax than any other Texas counties
  •   Higher maximum sales tax than 73% of counties nationwide
Last updated October 2023

Tax Rates By City in Taylor County, Texas

The total sales tax rate in any given location can be broken down into state, county, city, and special district rates. Texas has a 6.25% sales tax and Taylor County collects an additional N/A, so the minimum sales tax rate in Taylor County is 6.25% (not including any city or special district taxes). This table shows the total sales tax rates for all cities and towns in Taylor County, including all local taxes.

City Sales Tax Rate Tax Jurisdiction
Abilene 8.25% Abilene
Merkel 8.25% Merkel
Tuscola 8.25% Tuscola Crime Control And Prevention District Sl
Dyess Afb 8.25% Abilene
Buffalo Gap 8.25% Buffalo Gap
Tye 8.25% Abilene
Ovalo 6.25% Callahan
Trent 8.25% Trent
Lawn 7.25% Lawn

Texas Sales Tax Rates by Zip Code:

Need an updated list of Texas sales tax rates for your business? Download our Texas sales tax database!

Taylor County, Texas has a maximum sales tax rate of 8.25% and an approximate population of 105,554.

Sales tax rates in Taylor County are determined by seven different tax jurisdictions, Abilene, Buffalo Gap, Callahan, Lawn, Merkel, Trent and Tuscola Crime Control And Prevention District Sl.

  Back to Texas Sales Tax Handbook Sales tax rates for Taylor County are current as of October 2023
** This Document Provided By SalesTaxHandbook **
Source: http://www.salestaxhandbook.com/texas/rates/taylor-county