Chittenden County Vermont Sales Tax Rate 2022 Vermont Sales Tax Rates: Chittenden County


Chittenden County, Vermont Sales Tax Rate 2022 Up to 7%

Chittenden County Has No County-Level Sales Tax

While many counties do levy a countywide sales tax, Chittenden County does not. The Vermont sales tax of 6% applies countywide. Some cities and local governments in Chittenden County collect additional local sales taxes, which can be as high as 1%.

Here's how Chittenden County's maximum sales tax rate of 7% compares to other counties around the United States:

  •   Higher maximum sales tax than 57% of Vermont counties
  •   Lower maximum sales tax than 64% of counties nationwide
Last updated January 2022

Tax Rates By City in Chittenden County, Vermont

The total sales tax rate in any given location can be broken down into state, county, city, and special district rates. Vermont has a 6% sales tax and Chittenden County collects an additional N/A, so the minimum sales tax rate in Chittenden County is 6% (not including any city or special district taxes). This table shows the total sales tax rates for all cities and towns in Chittenden County, including all local taxes.

City Sales Tax Rate Tax Jurisdiction
Burlington 7% Burlington
Essex Junction 6% Essex Junction Village
South Burlington 7% South Burlington
Colchester 7% Colchester
Milton 6% Milton
Williston 7% Williston
Shelburne 6% Shelburne
Winooski 7% Winooski
Jericho 6% Jericho
Hinesburg 6% Hinesburg
Richmond 6% Richmond
Charlotte 6% Charlotte
Underhill 6% Underhill
Huntington 6% Huntington
Westford 6% Westford
Essex 6% Essex
Burlington 7% South Burlington
Jonesville 6% Richmond
Underhill Center 6% Underhill

Vermont Sales Tax Rates by Zip Code:

Need an updated list of Vermont sales tax rates for your business? Download our Vermont sales tax database!

Chittenden County, Vermont has a maximum sales tax rate of 7% and an approximate population of 130,252.

Sales tax rates in Chittenden County are determined by sixteen different tax jurisdictions, Essex, Milton, Jericho, Richmond, Westford, Winooski, Charlotte, Hinesburg, Shelburne, Underhill, Williston, Burlington, South Burlington, Colchester, Huntington and Essex Junction Village.

  Back to Vermont Sales Tax Handbook Sales tax rates for Chittenden County are current as of January 2022
** This Document Provided By SalesTaxHandbook **