Monongalia County West Virginia Sales Tax Rate 2024 West Virginia Sales Tax Rates: Monongalia County

West Virginia:

Monongalia County, West Virginia Sales Tax Rate 2024 Up to 7%

Monongalia County Has No County-Level Sales Tax

While many counties do levy a countywide sales tax, Monongalia County does not. The West Virginia sales tax of 6% applies countywide. Some cities and local governments in Monongalia County collect additional local sales taxes, which can be as high as 1%.

Here's how Monongalia County's maximum sales tax rate of 7% compares to other counties around the United States:

  •   Higher maximum sales tax than any other West Virginia counties
  •   Lower maximum sales tax than 55% of counties nationwide
Last updated July 2024

Tax Rates By City in Monongalia County, West Virginia

The total sales tax rate in any given location can be broken down into state, county, city, and special district rates. West Virginia has a 6% sales tax and Monongalia County collects an additional N/A, so the minimum sales tax rate in Monongalia County is 6% (not including any city or special district taxes). This table shows the total sales tax rates for all cities and towns in Monongalia County, including all local taxes.

City Sales Tax Rate Tax Jurisdiction
Morgantown 7% Morgantown
Fairview 6% Marion
Maidsville 6% Monongalia
Dellslow 6% Monongalia
Granville 6% Granville
Wana 6% Marion
Blacksville 6% Monongalia
Osage 6% Monongalia
Pentress 6% Monongalia
Cassville 6% Monongalia
Pursglove 6% Monongalia
Morgantown 6% Star City

West Virginia Sales Tax Rates by Zip Code:

Need an updated list of West Virginia sales tax rates for your business? Download our West Virginia sales tax database!

Monongalia County, West Virginia has a maximum sales tax rate of 7% and an approximate population of 60,512.

Sales tax rates in Monongalia County are determined by five different tax jurisdictions, Granville, Marion, Monongalia, Morgantown and Star City.

  Back to West Virginia Sales Tax Handbook Sales tax rates for Monongalia County are current as of July 2024
** This Document Provided By SalesTaxHandbook **