Monroe County West Virginia Sales Tax Rate 2024 West Virginia Sales Tax Rates: Monroe County

West Virginia:

Monroe County, West Virginia Sales Tax Rate 2024 Up to 7%

Monroe County Has No County-Level Sales Tax

While many counties do levy a countywide sales tax, Monroe County does not. The West Virginia sales tax of 6% applies countywide. Some cities and local governments in Monroe County collect additional local sales taxes, which can be as high as 1%.

Here's how Monroe County's maximum sales tax rate of 7% compares to other counties around the United States:

  •   Higher maximum sales tax than any other West Virginia counties
  •   Lower maximum sales tax than 55% of counties nationwide
Last updated July 2024

Tax Rates By City in Monroe County, West Virginia

The total sales tax rate in any given location can be broken down into state, county, city, and special district rates. West Virginia has a 6% sales tax and Monroe County collects an additional N/A, so the minimum sales tax rate in Monroe County is 6% (not including any city or special district taxes). This table shows the total sales tax rates for all cities and towns in Monroe County, including all local taxes.

City Sales Tax Rate Tax Jurisdiction
Peterstown 6% Monroe
Alderson 7% Alderson
Union 6% Monroe
Lindside 6% Monroe
Ballard 6% Monroe
Sinks Grove 6% Greenbrier
Gap Mills 6% Monroe
Wayside 6% Monroe
Wolfcreek 6% Monroe
Greenville 6% Monroe
Waiteville 6% Monroe
Secondcreek 6% Monroe

West Virginia Sales Tax Rates by Zip Code:

Need an updated list of West Virginia sales tax rates for your business? Download our West Virginia sales tax database!

Monroe County, West Virginia has a maximum sales tax rate of 7% and an approximate population of 11,393.

Sales tax rates in Monroe County are determined by three different tax jurisdictions, Alderson, Greenbrier and Monroe.

  Back to West Virginia Sales Tax Handbook Sales tax rates for Monroe County are current as of July 2024
** This Document Provided By SalesTaxHandbook **