Massachusetts: Medical Marijuana Handbook
Massachusetts Marijuana Tax Rate
|Sales Tax Medical
|Excise Tax Medical
|Max Medical Tax
|Sales Tax Recreational
|Excise Tax Recreational
|Max Recreational Tax
2024 Massachusetts Medical Marijuana Handbook
Massachusetts has 5 bordering states consisting of Connecticut, New Hampshire, New York, Rhode Island, and Vermont.
Medical marijuana is legal in Connecticut and is subject to a cannabis sales tax of 6.35%. There is no cannabis excise tax charged on medical marijuana in Connecticut.
Medical marijuana is legal in New Hampshire , but there is no cannabis sales tax on it. There is no cannabis excise tax charged on medical marijuana in New Hampshire.
Medical marijuana is legal in New York , but they choose not to tax medical marijuana. There is, however, a 7% cannabis excise tax on all sales of medical marijuana in New York.
Medical marijuana is legal in Rhode Island and is subject to a cannabis sales tax of 7.00%. There is no cannabis excise tax charged on medical marijuana in Rhode Island.
Medical marijuana is legal in Vermont and is subject to a cannabis sales tax of 6.00%. There is no cannabis excise tax charged on medical marijuana in Vermont.
Medical Marijuana is illegal in so there is no tax on medical marijuana in those states.
About Massachusetts Medical Marijuana
Is medical marijuana legal in Massachusetts?
Yes, medical marijuana is legal in Massachusetts
When and how did Massachusetts legalize marijuana for medical use?
Massachusetts legalized medical marijuana in 2012. This law was passed using Ballot Question 3 and passed with a vote of 63%. The official name for this law is the Medical Use of Marijuana
Massachusetts Medical Marijuana possession limits
- 60-day supply for personal medical use (10 oz.)
- 6 plants per person up to 12 per household
- if under Hardship Cultivation Registration, 12 flowering plants and 12 vegetative plants not including clones or enough for a 60-day supply for the patient
Is it legal to grow marijuana for medicinal use at home in Massachusetts?
There are certain conditions that would allow for a medical marijuana patient to grow marijuana for medicinal use.
A patient can only grow their own medical marijuana if they have a verified financial hardship, they are physically incapable of accessing a marijuana treatment center either because of no access to reasonable transportation or lack of a treatment center that will deliver to the patient or their primary caregiver, or there is no treatment center within a reasonable distance of their primary residence and there is no treatment center that will deliver marijuana to the patient or their caregiver.
- The patient must apply for a Hardship Cultivation Registration providing information in support of their claim of limited access and a description of the system or method by which they will ensure security of and prevent diversion of the marijuana plants. If granted the registration is valid for one year and can be renewed.
- The patient is allowed to cultivate enough plants sufficient to maintain a 60-day supply of marijuana solely for the patient but no more than 12 flowering plants and 12 vegetative plants excluding clones.
- The plants cannot be visible from the street or other public areas and the patient must document their fire safety plan.
- Accepting the registration means that the patient consents to inspection of the cultivation site by the Commission. -
- a patient can also grow under the recreational marijuana rules but can only grow up to 6 plants with a maximum of 12 plants per residence with other individuals
Are there medical dispensaries available to patients?
Yes, as long as the patient presents the appropriate documentation for Massachusetts.
A dispensary’s entrance cannot be closer than 500 feet from the nearest school entrance although the local town or city can adopt an ordinance to reduce the distance requirement.
- Dispensary employees must receive at least eight hours of training annually including Responsible Vendor Training.
- dispensaries must provide interpreter services including for the visually and hearing impaired by any effective means
Is there a list of specific conditions for medical marijuana in Massachusetts?
- Crohn's disease
- Chronic pain
- Hepatitis C
- multiple sclerosis
- Parkinson's disease
- Post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD)
- Severe pain
- Severe nausea
- Severe or persistent muscle spasms
- Wasting syndrome
The list above, and more detailed information on it, can be found in the Massachusetts medical marijuana law
Does Massachusetts have a medical registry system or ID card?
Yes, Massachusetts keeps track of their medical marijuna patients.
- there is no charge for initial cards, and a $10 charge for replacement cards.
- cards must be carried at all times when the patient has medical marijuana with them
- cards must be renewed annually
- a patient can designate up to two caregivers
Does Massachusetts recognize patients from other states?
No, Massachusetts does not recognize patients from any state.
Are there any age restrictions for medical marijuana in Massachusetts?
A qualified patient under 18 must have an attestation from a parent or legal guardian granting permission for the child to register and must designate a personal caregiver who shall be the child’s parent or legal guardian.
Click here for the administrative rules (935 Code of Mass. Reg. 501.00 et seq)-->