Dakota County Minnesota Sales Tax Rate 2023 Minnesota Sales Tax Rates: Dakota County


Dakota County, Minnesota Sales Tax Rate 2023 Up to 7.625%

Dakota County Has No County-Level Sales Tax

While many counties do levy a countywide sales tax, Dakota County does not. The Minnesota sales tax of 6.875% applies countywide. Some cities and local governments in Dakota County collect additional local sales taxes, which can be as high as 0.75%.

Here's how Dakota County's maximum sales tax rate of 7.625% compares to other counties around the United States:

  •   Higher maximum sales tax than 63% of Minnesota counties
  •   Higher maximum sales tax than 54% of counties nationwide
Last updated March 2023

Tax Rates By City in Dakota County, Minnesota

The total sales tax rate in any given location can be broken down into state, county, city, and special district rates. Minnesota has a 6.875% sales tax and Dakota County collects an additional N/A, so the minimum sales tax rate in Dakota County is 6.875% (not including any city or special district taxes). This table shows the total sales tax rates for all cities and towns in Dakota County, including all local taxes.

City Sales Tax Rate Tax Jurisdiction
Saint Paul 7.125% Rosemount
Lakeville 7.375% Rice
Burnsville 7.375% Savage
Saint Paul 7.125% Eagan
Farmington 7.125% Dakota Co Tr
Hastings 7.375% Goodhue Co Tr
Rosemount 7.125% Dakota Co Tr
Inver Grove Heights 7.125% South Saint Paul
South Saint Paul 7.125% South Saint Paul
Burnsville 7.125% Lakeville
Inver Grove Heights 7.625% West Saint Paul
Saint Paul 7.125% Mendota Heights
Hampton 7.125% Dakota Co Tr
Randolph 7.375% Goodhue Co Tr
Mendota 7.125% Mendota
Vermillion 7.125% Vermillion
Castle Rock 7.125% Dakota Co Tr

Minnesota Sales Tax Rates by Zip Code:

Need an updated list of Minnesota sales tax rates for your business? Download our Minnesota sales tax database!

Dakota County, Minnesota has a maximum sales tax rate of 7.625% and an approximate population of 324,507.

Sales tax rates in Dakota County are determined by twelve different tax jurisdictions, Dakota Co Tr, Mendota, Goodhue Co Tr, Rice, Savage, Lakeville, Eagan, Rosemount, Mendota Heights, Vermillion, South Saint Paul and West Saint Paul.

  Back to Minnesota Sales Tax Handbook Sales tax rates for Dakota County are current as of March 2023
** This Document Provided By SalesTaxHandbook **
Source: http://www.salestaxhandbook.com/minnesota/rates/dakota-county