Lyon County Minnesota Sales Tax Rate 2023 Minnesota Sales Tax Rates: Lyon County


Lyon County, Minnesota Sales Tax Rate 2023 Up to 7.375%

Lyon County Has No County-Level Sales Tax

While many counties do levy a countywide sales tax, Lyon County does not. The Minnesota sales tax of 6.875% applies countywide. Some cities and local governments in Lyon County collect additional local sales taxes, which can be as high as 0.5%.

Here's how Lyon County's maximum sales tax rate of 7.375% compares to other counties around the United States:

  •   Higher maximum sales tax than 61% of Minnesota counties
  •   Lower maximum sales tax than 51% of counties nationwide
Last updated March 2023

Tax Rates By City in Lyon County, Minnesota

The total sales tax rate in any given location can be broken down into state, county, city, and special district rates. Minnesota has a 6.875% sales tax and Lyon County collects an additional N/A, so the minimum sales tax rate in Lyon County is 6.875% (not including any city or special district taxes). This table shows the total sales tax rates for all cities and towns in Lyon County, including all local taxes.

City Sales Tax Rate Tax Jurisdiction
Marshall 7.375% Marshall
Tracy 7.375% Redwood Co Tr
Minneota 6.875% Lyon
Cottonwood 7.375% Redwood Co Tr
Balaton 6.875% Balaton
Lynd 6.875% Lyon
Russell 6.875% Lyon
Ghent 6.875% Ghent
Garvin 6.875% Garvin
Taunton 6.875% Taunton

Minnesota Sales Tax Rates by Zip Code:

Need an updated list of Minnesota sales tax rates for your business? Download our Minnesota sales tax database!

Lyon County, Minnesota has a maximum sales tax rate of 7.375% and an approximate population of 21,604.

Sales tax rates in Lyon County are determined by seven different tax jurisdictions, Lyon, Ghent, Redwood Co Tr, Garvin, Balaton, Taunton and Marshall.

  Back to Minnesota Sales Tax Handbook Sales tax rates for Lyon County are current as of March 2023
** This Document Provided By SalesTaxHandbook **