St Louis County Minnesota Sales Tax Rate 2022 Minnesota Sales Tax Rates: St Louis County


St Louis County, Minnesota Sales Tax Rate 2022 Up to 8.875%

St Louis County Has No County-Level Sales Tax

While many counties do levy a countywide sales tax, St Louis County does not. The Minnesota sales tax of 6.875% applies countywide. Some cities and local governments in St Louis County collect additional local sales taxes, which can be as high as 2%.

Here's how St Louis County's maximum sales tax rate of 8.875% compares to other counties around the United States:

  •   Higher maximum sales tax than any other Minnesota counties
  •   Higher maximum sales tax than 84% of counties nationwide
Last updated January 2022

Tax Rates By City in St Louis County, Minnesota

The total sales tax rate in any given location can be broken down into state, county, city, and special district rates. Minnesota has a 6.875% sales tax and St Louis County collects an additional N/A, so the minimum sales tax rate in St Louis County is 6.875% (not including any city or special district taxes). This table shows the total sales tax rates for all cities and towns in St Louis County, including all local taxes.

City Sales Tax Rate Tax Jurisdiction
Duluth 8.875% Duluth
Hibbing 7.375% Hibbing
Virginia 8.375% Virginia
Duluth 8.375% Proctor
Eveleth 7.375% Eveleth
Ely 7.375% Ely
Chisholm 7.375% Chisholm
Saginaw 7.375% Saint Louis
Gilbert 7.375% Gilbert
Aurora 7.375% White Township
Mountain Iron 7.375% Mountain Iron
Cook 7.375% Saint Louis
Hoyt Lakes 7.375% Hoyt Lakes
Tower 7.375% Saint Louis
Babbitt 7.375% Saint Louis
Orr 7.375% Saint Louis
Iron 7.375% Saint Louis
Floodwood 7.375% Saint Louis
Embarrass 7.375% Saint Louis
Britt 7.375% Saint Louis
Buhl 7.375% Buhl
Biwabik 7.375% Biwabik
Side Lake 7.375% Saint Louis
Meadowlands 7.375% Saint Louis
Angora 7.375% Saint Louis
Cotton 7.375% Saint Louis
Forbes 7.375% Saint Louis
Makinen 7.375% Saint Louis
Twig 7.375% Saint Louis
Alborn 7.375% Saint Louis
Canyon 7.375% Saint Louis
Kinney 7.375% Kinney
Soudan 7.375% Saint Louis
Winton 7.375% Winton
Brimson 7.375% Saint Louis
Brookston 7.375% Saint Louis
Crane Lake 7.375% Crane Lake Township

Minnesota Sales Tax Rates by Zip Code:

Need an updated list of Minnesota sales tax rates for your business? Download our Minnesota sales tax database!

St Louis County, Minnesota has a maximum sales tax rate of 8.875% and an approximate population of 151,855.

Sales tax rates in St Louis County are determined by seventeen different tax jurisdictions, Ely, Saint Louis, Buhl, White Township, Duluth, Proctor, Kinney, Winton, Biwabik, Eveleth, Gilbert, Hibbing, Chisholm, Virginia, Crane Lake Township, Hoyt Lakes and Mountain Iron.

  Back to Minnesota Sales Tax Handbook Sales tax rates for St Louis County are current as of January 2022
** This Document Provided By SalesTaxHandbook **