Clay County Missouri Sales Tax Rate 2020 Missouri Sales Tax Rates: Clay County


Clay County, Missouri Sales Tax Rate 2020 Up to 9.725%

The Clay County Sales Tax is 1.125%

A county-wide sales tax rate of 1.125% is applicable to localities in Clay County, in addition to the 4.225% Missouri sales tax.

Some cities and local governments in Clay County collect additional local sales taxes, which can be as high as 4.375%.

Here's how Clay County's maximum sales tax rate of 9.725% compares to other counties around the United States:

  •   Higher maximum sales tax than 97% of Missouri counties
  •   Higher maximum sales tax than 92% of counties nationwide
Last updated October 2020

Tax Rates By City in Clay County, Missouri

The total sales tax rate in any given location can be broken down into state, county, city, and special district rates. Missouri has a 4.225% sales tax and Clay County collects an additional 1.125%, so the minimum sales tax rate in Clay County is 5.35% (not including any city or special district taxes). This table shows the total sales tax rates for all cities and towns in Clay County, including all local taxes.

City Sales Tax Rate Tax Jurisdiction
Kansas City 8.475% Kansas City (Clay Co)
Liberty 8.85% Liberty
Excelsior Springs 8.975% Excelsior Springs (Clay Co)
Kearney 8.475% Kearney
Smithville 8.475% Smithville
Holt 5.475% Clay County
Mosby 9.725% Excelsior Springs Crc Cid
Kansas City 5.975% Clay Co Smithville Fpd
Missouri City 6.475% Missouri

Missouri Sales Tax Rates by Zip Code:

Need an updated list of Missouri sales tax rates for your business? Download our Missouri sales tax database!

Clay County, Missouri has a maximum sales tax rate of 9.725% and an approximate population of 188,838.

Sales tax rates in Clay County are determined by nine different tax jurisdictions, Clay County, Excelsior Springs Crc Cid, Kearney, Liberty, Smithville, Kansas City (Clay Co), Clay Co Smithville Fpd, Missouri and Excelsior Springs (Clay Co).

  Back to Missouri Sales Tax Handbook Sales tax rates for Clay County are current as of October 2020
** This Document Provided By SalesTaxHandbook **