Jackson County Missouri Sales Tax Rate 2021 Missouri Sales Tax Rates: Jackson County


Jackson County, Missouri Sales Tax Rate 2021 Up to 9.85%

The Jackson County Sales Tax is 1.25%

A county-wide sales tax rate of 1.25% is applicable to localities in Jackson County, in addition to the 4.225% Missouri sales tax.

Some cities and local governments in Jackson County collect additional local sales taxes, which can be as high as 4.375%.

Here's how Jackson County's maximum sales tax rate of 9.85% compares to other counties around the United States:

  •   Higher maximum sales tax than 97% of Missouri counties
  •   Higher maximum sales tax than 95% of counties nationwide
Last updated November 2021

Tax Rates By City in Jackson County, Missouri

The total sales tax rate in any given location can be broken down into state, county, city, and special district rates. Missouri has a 4.225% sales tax and Jackson County collects an additional 1.25%, so the minimum sales tax rate in Jackson County is 5.475% (not including any city or special district taxes). This table shows the total sales tax rates for all cities and towns in Jackson County, including all local taxes.

City Sales Tax Rate Tax Jurisdiction
Kansas City 8.85% Kansas City
Independence 7.85% Independence
Lees Summit 7.85% Lees Summit (Jackson Co)
Blue Springs 8.6% Blue Springs Central Fire
Kansas City 8.35% Raytown
Grandview 8.6% Grandview
Grain Valley 8.6% Grain Valley / Central Jackson Co Fpd
Oak Grove 8.6% Oak Grove (Jackson Co)
Kansas City 9.85% Kansas City Downtown Streetcar Cid
Greenwood 8.1% Greenwood (Jackson Co)
Independence 5.6% Jackson County
Buckner 5.6% Jackson County
Independence 8.1% Sugar Creek (Jackson Co)
Lone Jack 5.6% Jackson County
Sibley 5.6% Jackson County
Kansas City 8.475% Gladstone
Levasy 6.6% Levasy
Lees Summit 7.85% Unity Village
Lees Summit 8.85% Lees Summit Summit Fair

Missouri Sales Tax Rates by Zip Code:

Need an updated list of Missouri sales tax rates for your business? Download our Missouri sales tax database!

Jackson County, Missouri has a maximum sales tax rate of 9.85% and an approximate population of 522,923.

Sales tax rates in Jackson County are determined by sixteen different tax jurisdictions, Levasy, Jackson County, Grandview, Greenwood (Jackson Co), Oak Grove (Jackson Co), Raytown, Gladstone, Kansas City, Kansas City Downtown Streetcar Cid, Unity Village, Lees Summit Summit Fair, Lees Summit (Jackson Co), Blue Springs Central Fire, Grain Valley / Central Jackson Co Fpd, Independence and Sugar Creek (Jackson Co).

  Back to Missouri Sales Tax Handbook Sales tax rates for Jackson County are current as of November 2021
** This Document Provided By SalesTaxHandbook **
Source: http://www.salestaxhandbook.com/missouri/rates/jackson-county