Erie County Ohio Sales Tax Rate 2020 Ohio Sales Tax Rates: Erie County


Erie County, Ohio Sales Tax Rate 2020 Up to 7.25%

The Erie County Sales Tax is 1%

A county-wide sales tax rate of 1% is applicable to localities in Erie County, in addition to the 5.75% Ohio sales tax.

Some cities and local governments in Erie County collect additional local sales taxes, which can be as high as 0.5%.

Here's how Erie County's maximum sales tax rate of 7.25% compares to other counties around the United States:

  •   Higher maximum sales tax than 95% of Ohio counties
  •   Higher maximum sales tax than 57% of counties nationwide
Last updated November 2020

Tax Rates By City in Erie County, Ohio

The total sales tax rate in any given location can be broken down into state, county, city, and special district rates. Ohio has a 5.75% sales tax and Erie County collects an additional 1%, so the minimum sales tax rate in Erie County is 6.75% (not including any city or special district taxes). This table shows the total sales tax rates for all cities and towns in Erie County, including all local taxes.

City Sales Tax Rate Tax Jurisdiction
Sandusky 6.75% Sandusky
Vermilion 6.75% Vermilion
Huron 6.75% Huron
Castalia 6.75% Erie
Milan 6.75% Erie
Berlin Heights 6.75% Erie County
Birmingham 7.25% Wakeman
Kelleys Island 6.75% Kelleys Island

Ohio Sales Tax Rates by Zip Code:

Need an updated list of Ohio sales tax rates for your business? Download our Ohio sales tax database!

Erie County, Ohio has a maximum sales tax rate of 7.25% and an approximate population of 68,342.

Sales tax rates in Erie County are determined by seven different tax jurisdictions, Huron, Erie, Sandusky, Vermilion, Wakeman, Erie County and Kelleys Island.

  Back to Ohio Sales Tax Handbook Sales tax rates for Erie County are current as of November 2020
** This Document Provided By SalesTaxHandbook **