Arkansas: Medical Marijuana Handbook
Arkansas Marijuana Tax Rate
|Sales Tax Medical||Excise Tax Medical||Max Medical Tax||Sales Tax Recreational||Excise Tax Recreational||Max Recreational Tax|
2023 Arkansas Medical Marijuana Handbook
Arkansas has 6 bordering states consisting of Texas, Louisiana, Oklahoma, Missouri, Mississippi, and Tennessee.
Medical marijuana is legal in Texas , but there is no cannabis sales tax on it. There is no cannabis excise tax charged on medical marijuana in Texas.
Medical marijuana is legal in Louisiana and is subject to a cannabis sales tax of 7%. There is no cannabis excise tax charged on medical marijuana in Louisiana.
Medical marijuana is legal in Oklahoma and is subject to a cannabis sales tax of 4.50%. There is also a 7% cannabis excise tax on all sales of medical marijuana in Oklahoma.
Medical marijuana is legal in Missouri and is subject to a cannabis sales tax of 4.00%. There is no cannabis excise tax charged on medical marijuana in Missouri.
Medical Marijuana is illegal in Mississippi, and Tennessee, so there is no tax on medical marijuana in those states.
About Arkansas Medical Marijuana
Is medical marijuana legal in Arkansas?
Yes, medical marijuana is legal in Arkansas
When and how did Arkansas legalize marijuana for medical use?
Arkansas legalized medical marijuana in 2016. This law was passed using Ballot Measure Issue 6 and passed with a vote of 53.2%. The official name for this law is the Arkansas Medical Marijuana Amendment of 2016 Ark. Const. Amend. 98
Arkansas Medical Marijuana possession limits
- Purchase 2.5 ounces of useable marijuana every 14 days
Is it legal to grow marijuana for medicinal use at home in Arkansas?
No, medical marijuana patients are not allowed to grow marijuana for medicinal use a home.
Only licensed cultivation facilities are allowed to grow medical marijuana. A dispensary may grow or possess 50 mature plants at any one time plus seedlings along with all usable marijuana derived from the plants or predecessor plants.
Are there medical dispensaries available to patients?
Yes, as long as the patient presents the appropriate documentation for Arkansas.
The individual(s) applying for a dispensary license and at least 60 percent of those owning an interest in the dispensary must be current residents of Arkansas who have lived in the state for at least the last 7 consecutive years. A dispensary cannot be located within 1,500 feet of a public or private school, church, daycare center, or facility for individuals with developmental disabilities that was in existence at the time of the dispensary application and no county can have more than 4 dispensaries. A dispensary cannot sell marijuana paraphernalia except for a vaporizer for qualified patients. A dispensary may grow or possess 50 mature plants at any one time plus seedlings along with all usable marijuana derived from the plants or predecessor plants. The dispensary must appoint an Arkansas licensed pharmacist as a consultant to provide training on recognizing signs and symptoms of substance abuse, refusing medical marijuana to someone who appears to be impaired or abusing it, and to be accessible to the dispensary agent or for patient consultation at all times during operating hours.
Is there a list of specific conditions for medical marijuana in Arkansas?
- hepatitis C
- amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS)
- Tourette’s syndrome
- ulcerative colitis
- severe arthritis
- Alzheimer’s or the treatment of these conditions A chronic or debilitating disease or condition that produces:
- cachexia or wasting syndrome
- peripheral neuropathy
- intractable pain that has not responded to ordinary treatment for more than 6 months
- severe nausea
- severe or persistent muscle spasms
- or any other medical condition or treatment approved by the Department of Health.
The list above, and more detailed information on it, can be found in the Arkansas medical marijuana law
Does Arkansas have a medical registry system or ID card?
Yes, Arkansas keeps track of their medical marijuna patients.
Registry cards are valid for one year after the date of issuance unless the prescribing doctor indicates that the patient would benefit from medical marijuana for a period of less than a year. The card would then expire on the date indicated by the physician.
Does Arkansas recognize patients from other states?
Yes, Arkansas recognizes medical marijuana patients from other states.
A visiting qualifying patient who is not a resident of Arkansas or has been a resident of Arkansas for less than 30 days, has a qualifying medical condition, and has a registry card or equivalent from another state can purchase marijuana in Arkansas for a 30-day period.
Are there any age restrictions for medical marijuana in Arkansas?
Qualifying patients under 18 can get a card if their physician explained potential risks and benefits of the medical marijuana to the patient and their parent or guardian and the parent or guardian consents in writing to allow the person to use marijuana, to assist in the use of the marijuana, to control the acquisition and dosage, to control the frequency of use, and registers as a designated caregiver.-->