Oklahoma: Medical Marijuana Handbook

Oklahoma:

Oklahoma Marijuana Tax Rate

Sales Tax Medical Excise Tax Medical Max Medical Tax Sales Tax Recreational Excise Tax Recreational Max Recreational Tax
4.50% 7.00% 11.50% N/A N/A N/A

2021 Oklahoma Medical Marijuana Handbook

Oklahoma has 6 bordering states consisting of Arkansas, Colorado, Kansas, Missouri, New Mexico, and Texas.

Medical marijuana is legal in Arkansas and is subject to a cannabis sales tax of 6.50%. There is also a 4% cannabis excise tax on all sales of medical marijuana in Arkansas.


Medical marijuana is legal in Colorado and is subject to a cannabis sales tax of 2.90%. There is no cannabis excise tax charged on medical marijuana in Colorado.


Medical marijuana is legal in Missouri and is subject to a cannabis sales tax of 4.00%. There is no cannabis excise tax charged on medical marijuana in Missouri.


Medical marijuana is legal in New Mexico , but they choose not to tax medical marijuana. There is, however, a 5% cannabis excise tax on all sales of medical marijuana in New Mexico.


Medical marijuana is legal in Texas , but there is no cannabis sales tax on it. There is no cannabis excise tax charged on medical marijuana in Texas.


Medical Marijuana is illegal in Kansas, so there is no tax on medical marijuana in those states.

About Oklahoma Medical Marijuana

Is medical marijuana legal in Oklahoma?

Yes, medical marijuana is legal in Oklahoma

When and how did Oklahoma legalize marijuana for medical use?

Oklahoma legalized medical marijuana in 2018. This law was passed using Ballot Question 788 and passed with a vote of 56.8%. The official name for this law is the Oklahoma Medical Marijuana Authority (OMMA)

Oklahoma Medical Marijuana possession limits


Marijuana:

  • 3 oz. on person
  • 1 oz. concentrated
  • 72 oz. edible
  • 8oz. at residence

Plants:

  • six mature marijuana plants
  • up to six seedling plants

Is it legal to grow marijuana for medicinal use at home in Oklahoma?

Yes, medical marijuana patients are allowed to grow marijuana for medicinal use.

According to HB 2612, any medical marijuana patient in the state of Oklahoma is allowed to cultivate 6 mature plants and 6 immature plants.

Are there medical dispensaries available to patients?

Yes, as long as the patient presents the appropriate documentation for Oklahoma.

There are three types of commercial cannabis licenses issued by Oklahoma: grower, processor, and dispensary. The Oklahoma Medical Marijuana Authority (OMMA) is tasked with reviewing and approving all commercial cannabis licenses. All licenses must also be registered with the Oklahoma Bureau of Narcotics and Dangerous Drugs Control (OBNDD). There is no limit to the number of licenses a single entity or an individual can have. However, each dispensary must have a separate license. There is no stated limit for the number of licenses one entity or individual can apply for and obtain a dispensary license. Each dispensary location must have a separate license. If multiple licenses are owned by one entity, they must be registered under a special status with the OBNDD. All applicants for licenses must be at least 25 years old, an Oklahoma resident with proof of residency, and have a certificate of good standing from the state. In addition, any medical marijuana dispensary must be 75% owned by an Oklahoma resident. There is an application fee of $2,500 plus any credit card fees for a dispensary license. These fees are non-refundable, even if the application is rejected. Dispensaries are allowed to sell mature plants, seedlings, concentrates, flowers, and edibles. Check spelling

Is there a list of specific conditions for medical marijuana in Oklahoma?

No, there are no specific conditions allowing the use of medical marijuana in Oklahoma.

Unlike many other states, Oklahoma does not have a set list of conditions. Instead, the prescription of medical marijuana depends on the recommendation of a qualifying physician.

Does Oklahoma have a medical registry system or ID card?

Yes, Oklahoma keeps track of their medical marijuna patients.

Application for a medical marijuana card in Oklahoma can take place online. According to the checklist , the patient must have:

  • a fully filled out physician recommendation form
  • digital photo, proof of identity such as a passports
  • driver’s license
  • ID card, or tribal card
  • residential property deed
  • rental agreement to show residency
  • proof of Medicare, Medicaid, or Veterans status letter (this is optional)
  • a form of payment is required and completed online account information.
  • Application for a medical marijuana card in Oklahoma can take place online. The patient must have a fully filled out physician recommendation form, digital photo, proof of identity such as a passport, driver’s license, ID card, or tribal card, residential property deed, or rental agreement to show residency. Proof of Medicare, Medicaid, or Veterans status letter (this is optional). A form of payment is required and completed online account information.

Does Oklahoma recognize patients from other states?

Yes, Oklahoma recognizes medical marijuana patients from other states.

Patients with a medical marijuana card from another state are allowed to purchase medical cannabis from a dispensary.

Are there any age restrictions for medical marijuana in Oklahoma?

Medical marijuana applicants have to be 18 or older and an Oklahoma resident to apply for a medical marijuana patient license. The application must have medical documentation from an Oklahoma board certified physical. Applications are approved or denied within 14 days of application.

Minors under the age of 18 can apply for medical marijuana if they have a qualifying medical condition and physician recommendation. The license is in the form of an identification card with the minor’s name, date of birth, photo, city,and county of recession. A parent/legal guardian must also provide their information. A licensed minor is not allowed to enter a dispensary without a parent or legal guardian present.


** This Document Provided By SalesTaxHandbook **
Source: http://www.salestaxhandbook.com/oklahoma/marijuana/medical