New Mexico: Medical Marijuana Handbook
New Mexico Marijuana Tax Rate
|Sales Tax Medical||Excise Tax Medical||Max Medical Tax||Sales Tax Recreational||Excise Tax Recreational||Max Recreational Tax|
2023 New Mexico Medical Marijuana Handbook
New Mexico has 5 bordering states consisting of Arizona, Colorado, Oklahoma, Texas, and Utah.
Medical marijuana is legal in Arizona and is subject to a cannabis sales tax of 5.60%. There is no cannabis excise tax charged on medical marijuana in Arizona.
Medical marijuana is legal in Colorado and is subject to a cannabis sales tax of 2.90%. There is no cannabis excise tax charged on medical marijuana in Colorado.
Medical marijuana is legal in Oklahoma and is subject to a cannabis sales tax of 4.50%. There is also a 7% cannabis excise tax on all sales of medical marijuana in Oklahoma.
Medical marijuana is legal in Texas , but there is no cannabis sales tax on it. There is no cannabis excise tax charged on medical marijuana in Texas.
Medical marijuana is legal in Utah , but there is no cannabis sales tax on it. There is no cannabis excise tax charged on medical marijuana in Utah.
Medical Marijuana is illegal in so there is no tax on medical marijuana in those states.
About New Mexico Medical Marijuana
Is medical marijuana legal in New Mexico?
Yes, medical marijuana is legal in New Mexico
When and how did New Mexico legalize marijuana for medical use?
New Mexico legalized medical marijuana in 2007. This law was passed using Senate Bill 523 . The official name for this law is the Lynn and Erin Compassionate Use Act
New Mexico Medical Marijuana possession limits
- 425 grams or 15 oz over 90 days
- 4 mature plants and 12 seedlings.
Is it legal to grow marijuana for medicinal use at home in New Mexico?
Yes, medical marijuana patients are allowed to grow marijuana for medicinal use.
The patient must hold a valid personal production license and may not possess more than an adequate supply of usable cannabis.
Are there medical dispensaries available to patients?
Yes, as long as the patient presents the appropriate documentation for New Mexico.
Is there a list of specific conditions for medical marijuana in New Mexico?
- Friedreich's ataxia
- Lewy body disease
- spinal muscular disease
- Alzheimer's disease
- opioid use disorder
- multiple sclerosis
- spinal cord damage
- seizure disorder (including epilepsy)
- in hospice care
- Crohn's disease
- hepatitis C
- inclusion body myositis
- inflammatory autoimmune-mediated arthritis
- intractable nausea or vomiting
- obstructive sleep apnea
- painful peripheral neuropathy
- severe chronic pain
- severe anorexia or cachexia
- spasmodic torticollis
- ulcerative colitis
The list above, and more detailed information on it, can be found in the New Mexico medical marijuana law
Does New Mexico have a medical registry system or ID card?
Yes, New Mexico keeps track of their medical marijuna patients.
Registration certificates are valid for a period of three years.
Does New Mexico recognize patients from other states?
Yes, New Mexico recognizes medical marijuana patients from other states.
Residents of any US state, DC, or New Mexico Indian nation, tribe or pueblo can purchase marijuana from state dispensaries once they provide proof of medical physician authorization. Out of state patients are limited to 425 grams or 15 ounces over a 90 day period.
Are there any age restrictions for medical marijuana in New Mexico?
18 years old. Although, minors with qualifying medical conditions can receive medical marijuana approval if they designate a Caregiver. The minor must also provide a copy of their New Mexico State ID. The minor and caregiver must submit application to New Mexico Department of Health Medical Cannabis Program.