Utah: Medical Marijuana Handbook
Utah Marijuana Tax Rate
|Sales Tax Medical||Excise Tax Medical||Max Medical Tax||Sales Tax Recreational||Excise Tax Recreational||Max Recreational Tax|
2023 Utah Medical Marijuana Handbook
Utah has 6 bordering states consisting of Arizona, Colorado, Idaho, Nevada, New Mexico, and Wyoming.
Medical marijuana is legal in Arizona and is subject to a cannabis sales tax of 5.60%. There is no cannabis excise tax charged on medical marijuana in Arizona.
Medical marijuana is legal in Colorado and is subject to a cannabis sales tax of 2.90%. There is no cannabis excise tax charged on medical marijuana in Colorado.
Medical marijuana is legal in Nevada and is subject to a cannabis sales tax of 6.85%. There is no cannabis excise tax charged on medical marijuana in Nevada.
Medical marijuana is legal in New Mexico , but they choose not to tax medical marijuana. There is, however, a 5% cannabis excise tax on all sales of medical marijuana in New Mexico.
Medical Marijuana is illegal in Idaho, and Wyoming, so there is no tax on medical marijuana in those states.
About Utah Medical Marijuana
Is medical marijuana legal in Utah?
Yes, medical marijuana is legal in Utah
When and how did Utah legalize marijuana for medical use?
Utah legalized medical marijuana in 2018. This law was passed using House Bill 3001 and passed with a vote of 82%. The official name for this law is the Utah Medical Cannabis Act
Utah Medical Marijuana possession limits
- 112 grams per 30-day period
Cardholders are allowed to possess 112 grams (3.95) ounces of cannabis in a 30-day time period. If carrying the marijuana outside the home then the patient or caregiver must have their state-issued medical cannabis card with them.
Is it legal to grow marijuana for medicinal use at home in Utah?
No, medical marijuana patients are not allowed to grow marijuana for medicinal use a home.
Are there medical dispensaries available to patients?
Yes, as long as the patient presents the appropriate documentation for Utah.
A medical cannabis pharmacy must have a pharmacist on-site at all times during operation. Dispensaries are required to pay a non-refundable application and license fee for a license. The fee amount is determined by the Department of Health. The dispensary is also required to carry a performance bond of $125,000 that has a surety authorized to transact surety business within Utah.
The Department of Health is allowed to issue 14 medical cannabis pharmacy licenses within the state. They can issue additional pharmacy licenses if they determine it is necessary to properly service the number of registered patients in the area.
In rural areas, home delivery may be authorized as an added part of the pharmacy’s license. It will allow the pharmacy to deliver medical cannabis shipments directly to the cannabis holder’s home. All medical cannabis dispensaries must be licensed with the state of Utah. The dispensaries are allowed to dispense cannabis in the form of tablets, concentrated oils, capsules, transdermal preparations, topicals, gelatinous cube/lozenge, or liquid suspension. The legal dosage limit is 20 grams of THC per single dose.
Dispensaries dispensing raw cannabis must ensure that the product is in a tamper-resistant sealed container and has a 60-day expiration date.
Patients can obtain a 30 day supply of medical cannabis products. If the patient has a 30 day supply of unprocessed cannabis, it cannot exceed 113 grams by weight.
Is there a list of specific conditions for medical marijuana in Utah?
- HIV or AIDS
- Alzheimer’s disease
- Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis
- Crohn’s disease or ulcerative colitis
- Epilepsy or debilitating seizures
- Multiple sclerosis or debilitating muscle spasms
- Post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD)
- Terminal illness when the patient’s remaining life expectancy is less than 6 months
- Condition resulting in the individual receiving hospice care
The list above, and more detailed information on it, can be found in the Utah medical marijuana law
Does Utah have a medical registry system or ID card?
Yes, Utah keeps track of their medical marijuna patients.
A medical marijuana patient is required to submit an application to the Utah Department of Health to obtain a medical cannabis registration card. The patient must have a recommendation from a registered healthcare provider such as an MD, PA, DO, or APRN. The recommendation to use medical cannabis must be obtained from a qualifying physician in Utah.
Initially, the registration card is valid for one month. Thereafter, it is renewed at six-month intervals. The Utah Department of Health oversees the registration at the following LINK.
Does Utah recognize patients from other states?
Yes, Utah recognizes medical marijuana patients from other states.
They must hold a valid out of state medical marijuana card for one of the qualifying conditions accepted by the state of Utah such as the following: - Acquired Immune Deficiency Syndrome (AIDS) - Alzheimer’s Disease - Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis (ALS) - Autism - Cachexia - Cancer - Crohns Disease - Debilitating Seizures - Certain forms of severe epilepsy - Human Immunodeficiency Virus (HIV) - Multiple Sclerosis Or Persistent And Debilitating Muscle Spasms - Ulcerative Colitis - Terminal Illness with a life expectancy of fewer than six months. - Any condition that results in hospice care - Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD) That Is Being Treated - Persistent Nausea - Any Rare Condition Or Disease That Affects Less Than 200,000 Individuals In The U.S., - Pain Lasting Longer Than Two Weeks - A Condition That The Compassionate Use Board Approves (Once Established) On A Case-By-Case Base
Are there any age restrictions for medical marijuana in Utah?
Patients must be 18 years or older. A parent or legal guardian of a minor or designated caregiver can also purchase medical cannabis for a qualifiying patient. All purchasers are required to have a medical cannabis card. Patients younger than 21 must be approved via Utah’s Compassionate Board Use.-->