Arizona: Medical Marijuana Handbook
Arizona Marijuana Tax Rate
|Sales Tax Medical||Excise Tax Medical||Max Medical Tax||Sales Tax Recreational||Excise Tax Recreational||Max Recreational Tax|
2022 Arizona Medical Marijuana Handbook
Arizona has 5 bordering states consisting of California, Nevada, Utah, New Mexico, and Colorado.
Medical marijuana is legal in California , but they choose not to tax medical marijuana. There is, however, a 15% cannabis excise tax on all sales of medical marijuana in California.
Medical marijuana is legal in Nevada and is subject to a cannabis sales tax of 6.85%. There is no cannabis excise tax charged on medical marijuana in Nevada.
Medical marijuana is legal in Utah , but there is no cannabis sales tax on it. There is no cannabis excise tax charged on medical marijuana in Utah.
Medical marijuana is legal in New Mexico , but they choose not to tax medical marijuana. There is, however, a 5% cannabis excise tax on all sales of medical marijuana in New Mexico.
Medical marijuana is legal in Colorado and is subject to a cannabis sales tax of 2.90%. There is no cannabis excise tax charged on medical marijuana in Colorado.
Medical Marijuana is illegal in so there is no tax on medical marijuana in those states.
About Arizona Medical Marijuana
Is medical marijuana legal in Arizona?
Yes, medical marijuana is legal in Arizona
When and how did Arizona legalize marijuana for medical use?
Arizona legalized medical marijuana in 2010. This law was passed using Proposition 203 and passed with a vote of 50.13%. The official name for this law is the Arizona Medical Marijuana Act Title 36, Chapter 28.1 Arizona Administrative Code 9 A.A.C. 17
Arizona Medical Marijuana possession limits
- 2.5 oz.
- If patients are authorized to cultivate because there is no dispensary within 25 miles, they can cultivate up to 12 plants in an enclosed, locked facility.
Patients are allowed no more than 2.5 ounces of useable marijuana in any 14-day period
Is it legal to grow marijuana for medicinal use at home in Arizona?
There are certain conditions that would allow for a medical marijuana patient to grow marijuana for medicinal use.
Allowed only if qualifying patient lives more than 25 miles from a registered dispensary and the patient made a designation of who will be allowed to cultivate the marijuana for the patient on their application for a registry identification card
Are there medical dispensaries available to patients?
Yes, as long as the patient presents the appropriate documentation for Arizona.
Dispensaries must be operated on a non-profit basis but they are allowed to accept payments for expenses incurred in their operation No more than one dispensary registration certificate can be issued for every 10 pharmacies registered in the state except if there would not be a dispensary in each county where an application has been received
Is there a list of specific conditions for medical marijuana in Arizona?
- Hepatitis C
- amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS)
- Crohn's disease or agitation of Alzheimer's disease or the treatment of these conditions
- "a chronic or debilitating disease or medical condition or its treatment that produces cachexia or wasting syndrome, severe or chronic pain, severe nausea, seizures including those characteristic of epilepsy, severe and persistent muscle spasms including those characteristic of multiple sclerosis"
The list above, and more detailed information on it, can be found in the Arizona medical marijuana law
Does Arizona have a medical registry system or ID card?
Yes, Arizona keeps track of their medical marijuna patients.
The fee to apply for a registration card or renew a card is $150. The fee is $75 if the applicant can provide proof of enrollment in the Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP). Registration cards must be renewed every two years.
Does Arizona recognize patients from other states?
Yes, Arizona recognizes medical marijuana patients from other states.
Registry cards from other jurisdictions of the U.S. that allow for the possession or use of marijuana in that jurisdiction have same force and effect in Arizona with respect to possession or use, but the visiting patient cannot obtain marijuana from an Arizona registered marijuana dispensary.
Are there any age restrictions for medical marijuana in Arizona?
Patients under the age of 18 can be registered only if a custodial parent or legal guardian submits a written certification of need from 2 physicians, and the parent or guardian consents in writing:
- to allow the use by the child
- to be the child's designated caregiver;
- to control the purchasing, dosage, and frequency of use by the child