Cherokee County Kansas Sales Tax Rate 2020 Kansas Sales Tax Rates: Cherokee County


Cherokee County, Kansas Sales Tax Rate 2020 Up to 10%

The Cherokee County Sales Tax is 1.5%

A county-wide sales tax rate of 1.5% is applicable to localities in Cherokee County, in addition to the 6.5% Kansas sales tax.

Some cities and local governments in Cherokee County collect additional local sales taxes, which can be as high as 2%.

Here's how Cherokee County's maximum sales tax rate of 10% compares to other counties around the United States:

  •   Higher maximum sales tax than 98% of Kansas counties
  •   Higher maximum sales tax than 97% of counties nationwide
Last updated September 2020

Tax Rates By City in Cherokee County, Kansas

The total sales tax rate in any given location can be broken down into state, county, city, and special district rates. Kansas has a 6.5% sales tax and Cherokee County collects an additional 1.5%, so the minimum sales tax rate in Cherokee County is 8% (not including any city or special district taxes). This table shows the total sales tax rates for all cities and towns in Cherokee County, including all local taxes.

City Sales Tax Rate Tax Jurisdiction
Columbus 8% Cherokee County
Baxter Springs 10% Baxter Springs
Galena 9% Galena
Riverton 8% Cherokee County
Weir 8% Cherokee County
Mc Cune 7.5% Crawford County
Scammon 9% Scammon
Crestline 8% Cherokee County
West Mineral 8% West Mineral

Kansas Sales Tax Rates by Zip Code:

Need an updated list of Kansas sales tax rates for your business? Download our Kansas sales tax database!

Cherokee County, Kansas has a maximum sales tax rate of 10% and an approximate population of 16,713.

Sales tax rates in Cherokee County are determined by six different tax jurisdictions, Cherokee County, Galena, Crawford County, Scammon, West Mineral and Baxter Springs.

  Back to Kansas Sales Tax Handbook Sales tax rates for Cherokee County are current as of September 2020
** This Document Provided By SalesTaxHandbook **