Kansas: Sales Tax Handbook
How to file your sales taxes in Kansas
Once your business has a Kansas sales tax license and begins to make sales, you are required to start collecting sales taxes on behalf of the Kansas government and filing regular sales tax returns. This page will help you understand the basics of your tax collection and filing responsibilities.
How To Collect Sales Tax In Kansas
For sales made in brick and mortar location in Kansas, you charge the sales tax rate required by your location. Kansas has imposed an origin-based sales tax system; this means tax rates are established by geographical location, and the set rate is collected at the time of sale.
Online retailer with tax nexus obligations in Kansas must charge the rate the origin-based tax rate of the customers' geographic locations. You will charge the tax rate for the zip code to which you are shipping.
Sales Tax Collection Discounts In Kansas
While many states allow merchants to keep a small percentage of the sales tax they collect as a collection discount, or compensation for the work put in collecting the tax on behalf of the state, Kansas does not currently allow this.
Your Kansas Sales Tax Filing Requirements
To file your taxes in Kansas first determine what you owe, then prepare and file your return, and then finally, submit your payment to the state.
You have two different options for filing your return in Kansas. Your first choice is to file online at the Kansas Department of Revenue website. It can be found at this address, http://www.ksrevenue.org/iiwebfile.html.
If you prefer to file by mail you must first determine what form you will need to use. If you operate in a single jurisdiction, your will use Form ST-16, which can be downloaded and printed here, http://www.ksrevenue.org/pdf/st16.pdf. If you operate in multiple jurisdictions, you will need to use Form ST-36V. It can be found online at http://www.ksrevenue.org/pdf/st36.pdf, where you can download and print it to be mailed.
If you have a monthly filing status, payments are due on the 25th day of every month for sales made in the previous months. So, your February tax bill is due on March 25, and your March tax bill is due on April 25, etc.
If you file quarterly, your payment schedule is as follows:
* Quarter 1 (Jan.-Mar.) due Apr. 25
* Quarter 2 (Apr.-Jun.) due Jul. 25
* Quarter 3 (Jul.-Sept.) due Oct. 25
* Quarter 4 (Oct.-Dec.) due Jan. 25
Annual taxes are due on the 31st of January if you file only once per year.
While Kansas does not make zero returns mandatory, the state does stress that if it feels that you are omitting tax information, it will fine you between $500-$1000 dollars. It is simpler to just file a zero return to avoid suspicion.
If you file your taxes late in Kansas, you will be forced to pay a penalty of 1% of the tax due per month it is late. A maximum penalty percentage of 24% will not be exceeded.
Your Kansas Sales Tax Filing Frequency & Due Dates
Your business's sales tax return must be filed by the 25th of the month following reporting period. For a list of this year's actual due dates, see our calendar of Kansas sales tax filing due dates.
Where To File Your Kansas Sales Tax Return:
Filing Your Kansas Sales Tax Returns Online
Kansas supports electronic filing of sales tax returns, which is often much faster than filing via mail.
Kansas allows businesses to make sales tax payments electronically via the internet.Electronic payments are required only if the total sales tax liability is greater than forty five thousand dollars over the course of any calendar year.
You can process your required sales tax filings and payments online using the official KSWebTax website, which can be found here . You should have received credentials to access your KSWebTax account when you applied for your Kansas sales tax license.
Simplify Kansas sales tax compliance! We provide sales tax rate databases for businesses who manage their own sales taxes, and can also connect you with firms that can completely automate the sales tax calculation and filing process. Click here to get more information.
Back to Kansas Sales Tax Handbook Top